Compare Rates From Leading Companies
Save Up To 46% on Car Insurance
Enter Zip Code:

GEICO Reviews


Insurance Advertising Giant – GEICO Reviews

The Government Employees Insurance Company (GEICO) provides car insurance for over 10 million customers. The below GEICO reviews are from some of those customers.

Founded in 1936 by Leo Goodwin, Sr., GEICO  began selling auto insurance to federal government employees and their families. Despite having ‘government’ in its name, GEICO has always been a private corporation and has never been affiliated with any federal or state governments. Headquartered in Chevy Chase, Maryland, GEICO sells car insurance in all 50 states. The below GEICO reviews are from nearly all of these states.

Owned by Berkshire Hathaway, GEICO has enjoyed a resurgence in recent years thanks to advertising. Several of their advertising campaigns have become well-known in recent years – most notably the GEICO gecko and cavemen campaigns. As of 2007, GEICO boasted over 13 million insured vehicles with over 11 million policyholders.  GEICO is one of top insurers of automobiles in the nation. If you have an experience with GEICO, leave a review – good or bad.

To see reviews for a different company, checkout these auto insurance reviews.

For State Farm reviews, click here.

For Allstate reviews, click here.

Overall Rating4.184.184.184.184.18
Price4.074.074.074.074.07
Service4.294.294.294.294.29
Claims4.184.184.184.184.18

Reviews (242)

  • Erica Arriga

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 44444

    I completely am satisfied with GEICO. I drive a Jetta GLS around town only a few times a week to get groceries, gas, and cat food. Because of my short driving distance, I was curious if I was paying too much for my car insurance. After seeing the gecko commercials on TV, out of curiosity, I looked up rates online and was surprised. I switched from one of their competitors which was charging me $100 extra each month. Once I spoke with one of their customer service representatives, I was happy to hear that my insurance rate would be lowered to $80 each month due to my short driving distances. This is a great relief because of my two sons entering college this year. I need to have more money so I can support their food costs and other gas related costs for their on campus education. Hopefully this change will lead me to being able to give my boys more freedom during their college terms. I don’t want them to stress out over financial worries during an educational experience. I also let my sons in on how cheap GEICO car insurance is. I am happy with them so I am investigating switching my house insurance over to GEICO as well, as I am excited to see what more I can save each month through this great company. I highly recommend GEICO to my acquaintances as I have much more money to use during my free time, and that is what makes the world go round.

    Reply

  • John A

    |

    Overall Rating 33333
    Price 33333
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    GEICO was wonderful for the first two years I’ve had them. I was ran into by a driver running a stop sign and they made sure I had my cars damage amount in full before two weeks had passed. I was initially worried because they were more online only at the time and I thought that might have a negative effect on claims. Luckily they knocked it out of the park. Unfortunately in year 3 I’ve seen my premiums jump by 60 dollars for no discernible reason. I think I will shop elsewhere as there is no reason to pay more for this coverage.

    Reply

  • Terr

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I really like using Geico Insurance and have used them for around 10 years. The rates are really decent and I appreciate that. I haven’t had any problems whatsoever. I have had very little reason to contact them, so in my book that’s a good thing. On the few occasions that I have needed to contact them for something, the customer service has always been really friendly. I guess I can’t say they are the absolute lowest rate for what I get but they are reliable.

    I have only had one accident in that time so they didn’t raise my rates. Pretty sure that they wouldn’t raise the rates for the first accident even if it was my fault. The point is that they are a slightly better than average car insurance company. They don’t hassle or try to upsell products. They are responsive when there is a problem. The less you need to use them the better, of course. However, when you do need to use them you can expect that they will be pretty decent, but not spectacular, in all areas overall. So, in general, I have had a very good experience with this company. I pay my bill online so it is nice to be paperless. Their website is up to date and I have never had any issues with that. I’ve never been overcharged for anything or had any billing errors whatsoever.

    My only complaint is they don’t give any grace period when it comes to paying. When the bill is due, it’s due. Other than that it is a pretty good company.

    Reply

  • Amber

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 33333
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I’ve had no issues with Geico. I was in an accident where the other motorist was at fault and they handled it and got my money easily. They did raise my rates about twenty bucks this year for some reason, but so far I haven’t switched. Their customer service was top notch and they believed my side of the story about the accident, didn’t care for the other driver’s insurance, and they were quick about getting me a check. I have stuck with them for 3 years since that accident and the only reason I’d switch is if they continue to raise my rates. As long as they keep them comparable to the other companies then then they have themselves a customer for life and someone who will sing their praises online

    Reply

  • Walt R

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 33333

    Overall I am very pleased to be a customer of Geico. I have been with them for over 5 years now and have never had a problem to this date. In my state I find them to have the cheapest rates over most other companies available to me. I recently got a flat tire and someone was sent out immediately to help with the problem! I waited about 15 minutes for help and the experience was fast and easy when I was on the phone with the Geico representative! I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone!

    Reply

  • Mehmet

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 44444

    Geico is a well known company and it has a lot of perks to it, but there are a lot of aspects of it that are really awful. Lets just start off with the good. It’s a low price insurance company especially if you work for the government in any way. It’s almost as if it is half price compared to other companies. They respond well to phone calls and help you out as much as they can.

    If you need a claim, they really only go with what they have. They don’t go the extra mile for you. It’s not like other insurance companies do this so it’s not a big minus. The one time that I had make a claim, they weren’t able to pull up the other cars insurance company so it was really annoying even when the other guys insurance company had put a claim in too. Another time, I had to call them countless times to get the reimbursal for rentals.

    Another plus to Geico is the prices they offer on other things. Like car rentals, they paid everything while my friends company had to pay some out of pocket. When my car got totaled, they really had a fair price for it. It was higher then I expected to receive.

    Overall, Geico is one of the best companies out there. Other insurance companies have a certain extra charge for certain things, but Geico is a you-pay-one-time kind of thing which is awesome. Prices are very good and customer service is just above average so this is one of the best companies to be a part of.

    Reply

  • McDown

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    |I changed to geico about six months ago. I didn’t like my old insurance company very much. That got me on the move to find a new insurance company. After calling the local favorites and hearing their prices I was depressed. Not sure why but it was a couple days later that I thought of checking on the Internet. After falling for a few scam sites just wanting to collect my personal information I ended up at geico. The process of applying and receiving car insurance from GEICO was easy, fast and ended up being cheaper than my old car insurance. I went through the whole process from the shopping stage to holding “Proof of insurance” without speaking a word to another person. Some people might think that is bad but for me it was like the icing on the cake. Besides being easy to get and cheaper they have a smartphone app. By using the app I can do nearly anything such as paying, checking payment history and even pulling up a copy of my insurance card. I’ve not had to make any claims since i’ve had GEICO. Hopefully I won’t need to file any claims but if I do it can be done through the app too. Technology can be bad sometimes but in this case it saves me a lot of time and headaches. Since I have had GEICO I’ve not had to worry about anything to do with car insurance. They send out emails when it’s time to make a payment. It is possible to make recurring payments without having to do anything except set it up. So each month they send me a notice which is good because I forget sometimes. Then I pay my invoice and I am finished for the month. This far my experience with GEICO have been perfect!

    Reply

  • Michelle L

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    We live in Florida and have shopped around for the best price for car insurance. We previously had Progressive but the price kept going up so we needed an car insurance that was less expensive. After a lot of comparison shopping Geico was the best all around car insurance company, from price to customer service. I would recommend Geico to anyone who’s looking for a great car insurance company. Listen to the Gecko “15 minutes could save you 15% or more on car insurance” it’s the honest truth

    Reply

  • LisaM

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    A few years ago I was living in apartment complex in Jacksonville, Florida. One afternoon I went out to get in my car and noticed a long key mark on my drivers side door. After work I came home and called GEICO. I had been with GEICO for more than ten years and never had a need to call them. The claim representative explained everything clearly, concisely and with kindness. After we hung up I felt relieved. The next day I went out to my car in order to leave for work and there are double the amount of scratches and a racial slur carved into the drivers side door. I started shaking. Two months prior I had lost a great paying job with a company that closed its doors in Jacksonville. I was struggling to make ends meet and now my car was vandalized with a racial slur for no reason. Immediately, I went back upstairs and called the police and then called GEICO. I know I must have been crying through the entire phone call because I remember how compassionate the claims agent was taking my details. We made plans to have the damage evaluated. Since I had a $500 dollar deductible I wasn’t able to get the damage repaired for some time and then my family wanted me to move from that apartment complex to their home in Georgia.

    Reply

  • AValladaresPaz

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 44444
    Service 44444
    Claims 55555

    Geico provides me with great service and I would recommend them highly. In the 5 years that I have been with them I have only had one accident and it was not my fault. The other driver was not paying attention and caused the accident. I called Geico, somewhat scared as although I was not hurt, I was pretty shaken up. The car was really badly damaged. When I called them about it I was really surprised at how caring they were. I have always received excellent customer service but this was always under normal circumstances while paying a bill or inquiring about renewal notices and changing payment types. This was different. The agent immediately attended to my needs sending out a tow truck to pick up the vehicle and arranging for a rental to help with my driving needs until my car was repaired. I do not know if the service would have been different had the accident been my fault, but I really appreciated the way that I was treated at this stressful time.

    Reply

  • Patricia J

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 44444

    Several years ago I participated with another auto insurance company (Allstate). My rates were ridiculously high; my young adult sons were paying half of what I was paying! I kept calling, trying to get a reduction in rate, but to no avail. So I did a comparison Internet search and came up with GEICO for both my auto and home insurance needs. At this point, since I’ve dropped collision coverage, I pay less than $25 a month for full auto insurance including everything required in my state (Virginia).

    As far as claims, I have not been at fault in an accident but was recently struck by another GEICO-insured driver. I reported the claim, as did the other driver, and was contacted immediately by a GEICO representative, who took all my information and then made an appointment for me at the claims center to have the damage assessed. Within twenty-four hours they had cut me a check covering the damage. I took the car to the auto collision repair shop to have the work done. GEICO had a rental car service representative from Enterprise Rental Cars waiting for me at the body shop and he took me to the Enterprise facility near by and set me up with a rental car for the duration of the time that my car was getting repaired. There have been several other occasions when I had damage done to my car by another driver, insured either with GEICO or another company, and each time my experience with contacting the claims department at GEICO was very positive — someone got in touch with the other driver and made arrangements, as above, for getting my car’s damage appraised quickly and arranging for a rental car while I was without transportation.

    The other aspect of the company which I like is strictly practical. My billing cycle is set up in two six-month periods. My credit card is charged automatically each six months for the half-year period, and GEICO notifies me well in advance that they will be charging the credit card for the amount. They do not send out cards, but I can go on-line and print them out. I find the website very user-friendly and I can always call a toll-free number 24-7 if I can’t figure something out. So all in all, I would have to say that I am extremely pleased with this company and would not consider switching to another.

    Reply

  • Ben

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 33333
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    The pricing is reasonable, but that varies from person to person and state to state. I switched to Geico a year ago because the price was reasonable and I had heard they were good to deal with. All I can say is don’t use them if you want efficient claims service or customer service. I filed a claim and apparently my local rep was not available. So, several days later (after I called again) they sent someone from another region to do the claim. She left knowing I would need a supplement. My body shop filed the supplement and we cannot get anyone out to take care of. My car has been in the shop for two weeks now and I have no clue when I will get it because we cannot get the supplement addressed. This is horrible service.

    Reply

  • Jen P

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I switched to Geico after learning that it would be the same coverage but cheaper than the Esurance payments I was making. Geico is also cheaper than Progressive in my case. I have two vehicles on my policy. I have uninsured motorist bodily injury for twenty-five thousand per person or fifty thousand per occurrence and uninsured motorist property damage for twenty-five thousand. If I have an accident and it is my fault I have bodily injury liability which is twenty-five thousand per person or fifty thousand per occurrence. I also have property damage liability for twenty-five thousand. The total six month premium is four hundred and fifty-five dollars and twenty cents. My monthly payment is a very affordable eighty dollars.

    Luckily I have not had to make a claim so I have not had to deal with any of that.

    I have heard from acquaintances that they can not stand Geico, but I have yet to see why that is. I have had no issues with the company at all. Other than beginning a policy I have not had to contact or speak with customer service or any person for that matter. I pay attention to the dates on my printed out insurance policy cards and print the next few I will need whenever the end date is approaching so I am never left without a proof of car insurance. I do believe that Geico is kind enough to send me an e-mail whenever the date to print out the next set of insurance cards is approaching. I would highly recommend Geico to any one who asks me about my car insurance. I hope if I ever do have to make a claim that everything goes very smoothly.

    Reply

  • K.S

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    My auto insurance is through GEICO. I live in a rural area and GEICO was, by far, the cheapest auto insurance quote I received for full coverage.

    While their customer service over the phone is good, I love the fact that I can do everything I need online. Several times I’ve misplaced my ID card, but I can just hop online and have a new one emailed to me in less than five minutes. It’s very simple to use their website when looking over your information or requesting a quote. They always notify me by mail and email when my payment is going to be taken out of my account, at least a week before it’s taken out, and they don’t bombard me with a lot of junk mail. If they send me something, it’s something I need to see. When they send me paperwork through the mail, it is very easy to understand. Nothing has ever been overwhelming or made me feel like I didn’t understand what was happening with my insurance. I have not had to file a claim through GEICO so I can’t exactly comment to that aspect of it but they have been a great company to work with in every other area.

    The only thing I could possibly complain about is, recently, my premium increased slightly, even though I’ve had no claims. My coverage didn’t change in any way only what I pay each month. However, even with the increase they are still much cheaper than other companies

    Reply

  • Antonio J

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 33333
    Service 44444
    Claims 33333

    Being insured under Geico for the past four to five years has been relatively positive, but like most auto insurance companies, there is a clear room for improvement. I have not experienced many problems with Geico, and the customer service is helpful in most areas. However, the price can be bothersome at times, in comparison to companies like State Farm. I haven’t seen many perks for being a loyal customer, even with a moderately clean driving record. The claims service is perhaps the weakest aspect of Geico, as I’ve seen some claims remain active for too long of a time. I wish there was a more responsive system in place for the claims service, especially when it comes to getting any issues resolved. Nearly my entire family is insured under Geico, so I do not see myself changing auto insurance companies anytime soon. On the other hand, that doesn’t mean I won’t be scouting for other companies when it’s time for a new auto purchase as a precaution. Thankfully, the good outweighs the bad with Geico, and as long as payments are made on time, you’ll be relived to know that even though accidents happen, there is liberation up ahead. It was heartbreaking to see the GEICO Privileges program close down in 2013, so hopefully they re-open a service similar to that. I’m not sure if Geico offers any discounts for college alumni’s in Florida, but that would be one request I would love to see answered in the immediate future.

    Reply

  • Mark

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    GEICO has been my insurance company for a number of years, for a few different vehicles, and I have always been generally satisfied with their service. Over the years, I have had occasion to interact with them in a number of ways and every experience was a positive one. Their roadside service has come in handy several times due to dead batteries or flat tires. They always respond quickly and sympathetically and locate a service technician to assist you as soon as possible. The phone agents are good about keeping you informed of the estimated time for the tech to arrive and the companies they use have always been competent and friendly.

    The one accident claim I had was when my then wife wrecked our vehicle. GEICO was prompt in getting the claim process started and didn’t give us the third degree treatment on the phone. They were quick to get an adjuster out to look at the vehicle and were flexible in doing so at a time that was convenient for our work schedules. We were put in the hands of a body shop that did a good job in fixing the car and were taken care of with a rental car while the repairs were being done. Their call center staff has always been friendly and informative when I have called to make a payment, needed an answer to a question or to adjust my coverage in some way. Everyone would like to pay less for their insurance, but I have not found another company whose rates were significantly lower to justify switching from what I have found to be good treatment.

    Reply

  • Larry

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 22222
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I just had the most horrible experience with Geico. I switched to them about a year ago, due to issues with my old provider of 15 years, Progressive. For the most part, I never had any issues with Geico until I moved states and had to update to new insurance for my state. My new job actually paid me differently, and so I was requesting to have my due date extended for November, and almost did it again for December, as it was easier to pay after the 15th, instead of the 12th of the month. The second time I went in to extend it, they had a link there to move the due date instead of having to extend it each time. I read the notes about it, said nothing would change on my policy except the due date, and might have a small minor additional fee if moved further than the current due date instead of before the due date. I understood and appreciated that fact. So I actually moved my due date to the 16th of the month. Imagine my surprise to find two bills, seeing as I had both auto and motorcycle insurance through them, for quadruple the amount I was auto drafting them each month, sent to me to pay by the 16th. I called them, and asked how this happened, and they said that the changes I made to my policy invalidated my plans, and that it assigned my plan to a 4 month payment plan instead. It took time, however, I was finally able to get the auto insurance side of Geico to switch it back, and at nearly the same rate, on month to month. However, once I got transferred to the motorcycle division, they stated that not only did my plan get changed, due once again to that order online, which was supposed to not change anything except the due date, but that it also was a grandfathered plan I had been on, which is funny, as I had just started the plan less than a year ago, and that I could not get it back. I was also switched to a 4 month plan on that as well, and my rates jumped almost 5x as much for the payment request than they were before. So, I was then told that since my month to month plan was not available, I would have to select a 11 month payment plan, increasing my payments, which I budgeted for, to the new prices they stated, which I did not budget for. I stated that if they could not get me back on the plan I was on, that I would cancel their service. Keep in mind, they already have taken out the first agreed upon normal monthly rate that I usually paid on the 15th of December, well after I switched the due dates with them, with no qualms. However, the amounts requested on the 16th of January were 4-5 times as much for each policy. I have since attained new insurance at a much better rate than Geico could provide, and now tonight, I contacted them to cancel my insurance. I got a female on the line, who I told I wanted to cancel the plan. She began it, we talked while she was cancelling it, she put me on hold a few times, once as long as 8 minutes while reading the notes, then, advised me that I would have to pay the difference in the plans price from the 12th to the 16th, that should already have been paid on 12/15… I asked how that was, and she said she didn’t know, and put me on hold again… for almost 20 minutes. I heard her pick up a few times and put me right back on hold… until I was hung up on. I immediately called back, and requested a supervisor. The guy who answered, while not giving me one, was able to answer my question as to why they charged it after I cancelled it, he said it was going to be spread out over the payments until the next full renewal period, and would have resolved with no major extra. Took him 30 seconds to relay that to me. I asked that he relay the information on the young lady who helped me, as she definitely did not do a stellar job. Then, asked to be transferred to the Motorcycle division, where I was told they were closed. Seems that they closed down during the time the young lady had me on hold, so now I have to call back and go through this all again another day!!! Be careful what you read or do online with their website, they appear to be fast and friendly with slamming your service to other than you choose… I am giving the claims department a 1 star, even though I never used it, due to not allowing any really good numbers for their company. I did give 2 starts for price, as it wasn’t bad, overall though, customer service, until the last guy that helped me, was really really bad.

    Reply

  • Crystal S

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I have been using Geico Auto Insurance for several years. They have great rates, the lowest I could find. They are very prompt about sending insurance cards and keeping communication open.

    The only somewhat negative thing, for me, was signing up and getting started. I had moved between two states within the last year. I sent a copy of my current license and the number from my old license. They could not find a record of me having a license, which is very odd. They wanted a copy of my old license, which I obviously didn’t have, since the Dept. of Motor Vehicles took my old one when the new was issued. It took about three weeks to clear the issue up.

    Barring the very first incident, they have been nothing but helpful. Recently, an older gentleman backed into my vehicle in a parking lot. I didn’t get a Police report filed, since it was on private property. I was a little concerned that might be an issue, but it turns out it wasn’t. I reported the accident on their website and received a reply with further instructions within 24 hours. The Claims Agent I spoke with about the incident was very helpful and got the whole claim settled very quickly. My vehicle was repaired and back to me within four days of the incident.

    So overall, I am very satisfied with their performance. I love this company, they do their best to keep their customers happy. They have very competitive rates and excellent customer service. I expect I’ll be a lifelong customer. Keep up the good work, Geico!

    Reply

  • E.Havencroft

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 33333
    Service 33333
    Claims 33333

    I’ve had Geico for a little while now. As an undergraduate student, I really needed cheaper insurance with a well known reliable company for my boyfriend and I. I pay everything myself. Obviously being an undergraduate I don’t have much money to spare! My quote was cheaper than other companies by about ten to fifty dollars. For being cheapest, you get a pretty okay deal. They offer you several different ways to pay, many discounts too. I personally got a good student one and one for having my paperwork online. I shopped around a while before finally settling on the company I did. It was relieving to be able to get proof of insurance online, immediately have a card to show and be able to get to do what I needed to do. It was an easy transition into getting my newly bought 2001 Camry tags, titled and registered. So far I’ve had no problems with the company. Although I wish the insurance would be a little cheaper, I’m relatively sated with the service I’ve had. I use the online service to log onto Geico and manage my company. They said they were preparing paperwork but when I went back to look for it, I couldn’t find it. That was a little irritating and I hadn’t gotten many emails about the paperwork. I’ve yet to have a company and have been previously insured with American Family who is much more expensive. If anyone was to ask, I would encourage any student to give them a try.

    Reply

  • A.L.C.

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    My husband and I carry our auto insurance with Geico. We are very pleased with their prices. We have not had to make any claims with them, thank God, but their customer service on the phone is always very helpful. There is never a wait when you call to ask questions and they are very knowledgeable. When we switched to Geico we started saving about $200 a month. This amount of savings is huge to us and a no brainer! I have previously had a dui and they did not frown upon it. It will be off our policy in January and we will be saving even more money! I am so happy with their service and would definately recommend them to family, friends, or anybody searching for new auto-insurance.

    Reply

  • S. Hayes

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I love Geico insurance. I have been using them for about 6 years. I have never had anything but positive experiences. I have filed two claims with them. The process was very simple and the adjuster was great to work with. It didn’t really affect my premium either. I have the roadside assistance option and once while with my family my car broke down. I called for the roadside assistance, and even though the policy stated that the car should be taken to the nearest dealership, since I was such a good standing customer they towed it home for me. This was a big help, since my husband is a mechanic and we don’t use dealership shops.

    Recently, I let a friend borrow my extra vehicle. I called to see how to work this one the insurance. They extended a free 30 day period for my friend to drive the car, fully covered. This was very helpful. The customer service department is excellent. When I bought my new car, it was added for coverage just like that. And the representative even faxed over everything the finance company needed. That extra mile type service is one of the reasons that I stay.

    I love the auto draft feature, but I also love that I can postpone the payment when I need to adjust when I pay. This comes in handy when money is tight. I would never even consider another insurance company, I am extremely happy where I am. If it’s not broke don’t fix it.

    Reply

  • Tyler

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Awful place to do service with at one if their service providers. Thy messed up on my bumper 3 times and they even said they knew it was messed up. STICK WITH A PROVIDER YOU CHOOSE NOT ONE OF THEIR RECOMMENDED ONES!!!!

    Reply

  • Bernard O

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I have car insurance though Geico. Thus far I have had nothing but good experiences with them whenever I’ve had to contact them which, thankfully, has’t been much. We started our policy with Geico when we purchased a used car in 2013. They were pleasant, descriptive, and helpful. The representative we spoke with helped us begin the policy for myself and my wife and walked us through every step to help find what was right for us.

    Unfortunately the car we bought was a lemon so we ended up buying another car earlier in 2014. When we called Geico to switch the insurance from the old car to the new one, again they were pleasant and helpful, even giving us advice on how to deal with the old car. She offered advice on how we could go about selling it even gave us step-by-step directions of what we would need to do in our state when we did sell it. The representative even reminded us about getting tags switched over. One of the greatest things I think happened was, when the representative ran into some technical issues she struck up conversation by asking about our family, our kids, etc.

    I was pleasantly surprised with the hospitality we received from a large, national company after only having experience with a smaller, local company before we switched to Geico. We were given a very competitive price as well and are paying the lowest price we’ve ever paid for an insurance policy. Our family will have our insurance policy with Geico for a long time if they can maintain the level of service we’ve had thus far.

    Reply

  • Pam M

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    Geico currently insures my 2007 Pontiac Grand Am. I have liability coverage on it. I’ve never had any problems with Geico as my insurance company. The rates are reasonable when compared to other places I shopped at, although I’m sure the market has changed since then. I’ve never been in an accident, so I haven’t really had much of a chance to see exactly how they would be in that situation and I hope I don’t ever find out. A positive, is that they don’t bother me much. I don’t get a lot of calls trying to sell me a different kind of insurance, or lots of spam junk. They’re kind of just “there” if and when I need them.

    Reply

  • MK

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    When I moved from Massachusetts to Florida I was disappointed to learn that my insurance coverage could not be extended to Florida.I spoke with many friends and asked for recommendations and the answer I received more than any other was Geico.I had never sought information about their coverage because I was quite happy with my insurance carrier in Mass. As most of us I have seen and enjoyed their numerous tv commercials but always though that there were many stipulations attached to receive the low quotes stated in the ads.So I went online and discovered that the claims made in the ads were true.I did save over 15% and the enrollment process was seamless. I actually found it so easy that I felt compelled to call a representative just to assure myself that it could be so easy. The rep was polite,efficient and knowledgeable and confirmed that my online enrollment was as easy as I thought.While on the phone she emailed me the forms and documents which I esigned and my coverage began almost immediately.I was able to print out the documents and the entire process took less than 30 minutes. I normally find the experience of switching carriers very irritating and cumbersome but in this case it could not have been easier. My payments are debited from my checking account each month and fortunately I have not needed to call upon them again. I hope it won’t be necessary to require their services ( no accidents ) but hopefully if I do that experience will be professionally handled as well.

    Reply

  • Jon

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    My experience with GEICO so far was surprisingly positive. The firs thing that GEICO was able to do was lower my car insurance for making the Dean’s list in college. I didn’t need to even send them anything, just tell them I made it and they lopped of a decent amount/month. In addition to their reduction in rate, GEICO has been extremely easy to deal with in the event of accident. Last year, I hit a deer and my front bumper was destroyed and my hood dented badly. I called GEICO and the representative was very helpful, immediately helping to set me up with a local body shop. When I brought the car in, GEICO was able to replace my bumper and my hood, along with a few other dings, as well as rent me another car at no cost while my car in the shop. I had to pay my deductible of course, which was $500, but it was well worth it. I know that GEICO can be a little bombarding when it comes to the huge amount of advertisements that are regularly on TV or the radio, but my experiences with them were very good. I would highly recommend GEICO to anyone shopping for car insurance, as their premiums were pretty good and their customer service was very helpful, far better than what I had initially expected. Once my car got to the body shop, everything was fixed within a week. The colors looked perfect on the matched parts, and they even detailed my car on the inside. No complaints here.

    Reply

  • A.Reno

    |

    Overall Rating 33333
    Price 11111
    Service 44444
    Claims 33333

    So I’m in college and I just bought my first car with my hard earned money from working, it’s a toyota corolla (it’s got over 100k miles but I bike to work anyways it’s more for when I need to absolutely drive so a nice car with a lot of miles doesn’t bother me because it won’t be used daily) but anyways I’m on my parents plan and yet my insurance is $200 a month, I decided to look around and I found a local agency that will only be about $150 a month, overall my experience with Geico hasn’t been horrible but it hasn’t been memorable either. I’d much prefer to support a small company in my town than to continue to insure my vehicles with geico when it costs more to be with my parents plan than to be on my own.

    Reply

  • Astrolounge

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    BEWARE OF GEICO!!!

    Hey folks, I just found out that when I tried to cancel a vehicle from my Geico insurance policy last month after raising my rates, they actually SPLIT the policy into two different policies without my consent!
    Plus, I got MORE coverage from Progressive for $60 a month LESS!!!

    If you have Geico and you try to change some aspect of your policy, make sure they don’t try and pull a fast one on you like they did me.
    If you don’t have Geico, Stay Away!!!

    Reply

  • csoares

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    Geico has been an outstanding auto insurance company. I first dealt with Geico after I was rear ended by a driver that was insured by them. My claim submission was pretty easy, and the insurance adjuster answered all my questions. I received fair compensation for the damage to my car, and was even given a follow up call from Geico to make sure I was satisfied. This experience prompted me to get a quote from them when I was shopping around for a better deal on my car insurance a few years later. Not only was their rate about 600’s less than my provider at the time, the customer service team was again very knowledgable and helpful throughout the process.

    Reply

  • Heather F

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 44444

    I have Geico auto insurance not only are there commercials cute and catchy their policies are also awesome! I have many friends that use that I refer them to everyone one I know, I have gotten other insurance quotes trying to find a lower price but no one comes close!! I have never had an accident so I can not comment on how they run that part, but I have had friends that have and they said they were amazing, that they got the car fixed immediately after hitting a deer. Rental car at low cost and it didn’t affect the price of their insurance! So in my opinion you can not beat Geico, and when we got a new car it was super easy to transfer insurance to new car without any hassle. Before them we had Progressive who claim to be the lowest but they are far from it, and very unhelpful when you call for assistance, we had a fender bender and was not at fault but it took weeks to get the car fixed they refused the mechanics we found and was only allowing us to go to ones very far out of the way, I’m so happy that we switched.

    Reply

  • Josh

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I have been very happy with GEICO. When I first signed up for auto insurance, I got quotes from multiple companies and GEICO was by far the most inexpensive. We now have a total of three vehicles insured with them and they haven’t really increased our rates over the past few years.

    Fortunately, we haven’t had any accidents where we had to file a claim, so I can’t speak for how they handle those. But I can say that their website is very easy and convenient to use. You are able to instantly print out your ID cards, or you can have them mailed to you. They also allow you to order a card for use when traveling to Canada, which is nice since I live in Michigan and occasionally cross the border.

    One thing in particular I liked about GEICO is that they allowed me to change the date that I pay for coverage each month to coincide with the day that I receive a paycheck. this is incredibly convenient since I never have to worry about them attempting to charge me when I don’t have the money available for it.

    Recently, I replaced one vehicle on the policy with a different vehicle that we had just bought and the cost actually went down, not up. I am very happy with their service so far! Hopefully if I need to make a claim one day, it’ll go as smoothly as things have so far. I would definitely recommend GEICO to those looking for inexpensive coverage.

    Reply

  • rich

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    Geico is my one and only auto insurance company. Since changing from met life back in 1990 I have been loyal to Geico through thick and thin and through the many changes in my life. Geico has been there when I found myself in the middle of a financial crisis and allowed my auto insurance to lapse for a two-week period. While most insurance companies would let you go in a heart beat; Geico got me back on track without judgment and worked with me to reduce my premium so I could manage my account better from that point on. Geico’s customer service is really second to none. Every time I needed to obtain my insurance card, Geico always mailed them out to me in an quick fashion. Now with there state of the art on line web site it is easy to change payment plans, add vehicles or drivers and obtain important certificates, all with a click of the mouse. The other very important thing they offer is a very easy claim process. After the fender bender I was involved in they offered prompt payment of my claim. The final thing of importance and why I have stayed faithful to Geico is they offer the very lowest price premiums in the industry. That alone is enough for many people to switch. In closing this is a respectable insurance company with an outstanding reputation in automobile insurance and from some one who personally has gone the mile with them; I highly recommend them to everyone who needs a friendly caring profession auto insurance provider.

    Reply

  • J. Shaner

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    So far I am having a very good experience with Geico. I have had them for about a year and a half now. They were one of the lowest insurance rate quotes I got and I like the way you can customize your options online. Progressive was the highest and I was not impressed with their options. Some websites had limited, outrageous options that did not make me comfortable as a customer. It is nice to be able to add an extra $1 or $3 or whatever for add ons and not be forced into things you don’t need. I only pay about $90 a month for a 2013 car. I also filed my first insurance claim ever about a month or so ago and it was much easier than I expected. I filed online and someone called me not long after. They approved the claim quickly over the phone and determined I was not at fault. I went to the shop and they looked at my car, took pictures and notes, gave a complete estimate, and within days gave me a check. The amount also included an alignment, something they did not have to add on but they chose to since I needed 2 new tires and a new wheel and they wanted to make sure it all would function properly. The only times you really need to evaluate is when it comes to initial cost and how easy it is to file claims with them. No complaints so far

    Reply

  • R Slagle

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    My experiences with geico have been pretty good from the start, I have always had great rates, great coverage and all in all they have been really nice and helpful over the years that I have had them.

    Until lately when I got into a fender bender, which by the way wasn’t my fault, I got hit while stopped at a red light, when I had a few problems with what happened with the whole wreck. Geico handled everything great from getting the other peoples insurance to pay for the body work needed and everything else until they raised my rates. That was the first wreck of any kind I have had on my claim and they raised my rate by a little of $200 dollar a year for something like that.

    I have loved Geico since the beginning and I feel like I was getting a fair rate for the coverage they were giving me on my claim, but the raise in my rate really had me asking myself if they were just raising it because they could or if I was really a higher risk because of a little fender bender. Other than that I have to give Geico a great review on my part. I can’t complain about the service, the rates, the coverage, and the friendly people that i encounter every time I have to talk to them about anything. I have a meeting with them over the rate change and I feel like after all this it will all be solved to make everyone happy in the end. I’d recommend Geico to anyone especially if you are young like me, 19, they give me a great rate for how young I am and for the type of car I drive also.

    Reply

  • S. Thomas

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 44444

    The overall rating that I would give for GEICO auto insurance is definitely above 4 stars out of 5 stars. When I bought my first car in US, I was not having any driving history in the US. The customer service associates are highly talented and trained associates that they understood and considered my previous driving history outside of US and provided me with a good rate for my insurance. In fact I had more than 5 years if driving experience outside US. Other things which makes them the best is their online services like online payment, payments in multiple installments and prompt responses to your requests for ID card, claim settlement and other requests. Other highlight is the promptness they provide for roadside assistance.

    On a weekday morning I realized that I am having a flat tire on my car and I called GEICO customer service for assistance. They turned up in 30 – 45 minutes and I got the donut tire installed and ready to go in few minutes. They are normally a bit higher priced when compared to other auto insurance providers, but it is not that pricey when considering the service they render. They reminds about the payment dues regularly very prior to the due date and they are flexible in the payment options. I am also having the renters insurance with them and I preferred them considering their auto insurance services they have given to me and it is obviously gives me a peace of mind. I do recommend GEICO auto insurance to my colleagues and to my friends.

    Reply

  • Krystell M

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I have had a really great experience with Geico. I had to switch to Geico after I was being charged an extremely unreasonable amount from a different auto insurance company. Geico offered me a much better rate that would fit well with my budget. My whole family is on my plan, and we have a total of 3 cars covered.

    A few months ago one of our brand new trucks was in an accident, and thankfully we had Geico to take care of us. I made the call to report the accident and I was confused about who was at fault for the accident. I learned that although the scenario was a pile up (not at high speeds so it wasn’t that bad), I was a few cars back and I was considered the one at fault for my specific situation. The agent helped me understand who was at fault in a clear and helpful way. They immediately got a rental car ready for me so that the new truck could go into the auto repair shop. My truck had to remain in the shop for about a month, and unfortunately it was considered totaled. Thankfully Geico covered most of the costs for my new truck, and I was left over only having to pay a small portion of the overall truck cost. This was my first experience having to utilize my insurance to cover damages.

    My overall experience working with Geico was very positive, and I would absolutely recommend them to my friends and other family members.

    Reply

  • Eric W

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 33333
    Claims 22222

    So I finally got my own car and decided to go with Geico because i was refereed to them by a friend. At first I didn’t want to because there commercials are just so stupid i thought to myself are these really the people I want to trust with this sort of thing? But I was recommended by many people and said to ignore the commercials they are a great company, so I did and at first I thought i was getting a great deal on my car insurance ($229 without full coverage), but i turned out that i only had partial coverage on my car but i was paying close to full coverage for a sports car in CT! I drive a 95 Honda, so there should be no reason why i had to pay that much, i just thought i guess its because i have an older car but i guess that isn’t the case. I switched from geico to general and now my insurance is only $59 with the same exact plan! I would never recommend geico to any of my friends and can’t believe the i was recommended by 3 of my good friends and family members!

    Reply

  • Dan D

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 55555

    I’ve had nothing but a positive experience with Geico. They have been my car insurance company for the last ten years. I’ve never had a problem that wasn’t easily solved and all of my interactions have been pleasant and efficient. Every so often I get price comparisons to see if I could save some money switching to another company, but I’ve never found anything close to the value I get with Geico.

    I’ve noticed in the last couple of years they have implemented better payment options as well. I can pay my premium at once, over four months, or over six months. The choice is totally up to me. I’m also a big fan of their website. It’s really easy to use and navigate. Finding information about claims, pricing, or billing is super simple. There’s rarely a need to call the company as I can found out any answers with ease on their site. Let’s face it, car insurance isn’t glamorous. It’s a necessity dictated by law. It should be something that the consumer has, but needs to invest little time with.

    I enjoy knowing that I’m always secure and insured by a reputable company and that I don’t have to worry about anything. I don’t have to think about car insurance. Geico gives me this security with their abundance of options and payment plans. There aren’t many frills, but I don’t need any. I just need to be insured and they allow me to do this with the best pricing and ease of service. If you are looking for reliable car insurance which is simple to maintain and set-up, then I would highly recommend Geico as you get the most bang for your dollar.|

    Reply

  • ashley

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I enjoy my service with Geico. I was skeptical to sign up with them in the first place. Shortly after purchasing a policy with them, I hit a deer, or rather, the deer hit me. Anyhow, I only had my vehicle 6 days before this happened.

    I immediately called Geico through my app on my mobile phone. The first question they asked when I called to report the incident is if I was okay. I felt comforted by that, as I was by myself in the middle of nowhere (Wyoming). Then I gave the details of what happened. Filling out the necessary forms and having an estimate for the repairs was much easier than I had anticipated. I was very pleased with my experience.

    Since then, I have not had any issues with wrecking or incidents, other than weather damage (Hail). I am very pleased with the service and quality of care that Geico provides, considering they are an online company. Also, we moved back to South Dakota, and switching the policy state was a breeze. I would not switch policies to another company for the world. I have recommended them to several people.

    Reply

  • Josh R

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I have been with GEICO for years now and I am fairly happy with them. They have a great website where you can print out your ID cards as well as request them to be sent by US Mail. I’ve never had a situation where I needed to make a claim, so I cannot say how they are in that regard. In terms of price, while I am happy with their rates in comparison to other companies, I feel like they should be lowering my personal rates since I have been with them for years and never made a claim. Yet my rates either stay the same or have even went up by around $5 a month, which is ridiculous, in my opinion. You would think I’m exactly the type of customer they’d like to keep. However, when I compare their rates to other companies, they still win. That’s why I’ve stayed with them and will continue to in the future. Plus I love their commercials. haha I have not yet tried their phone app, so I cannot say how that works. Although they do have a good mobile website. One of the other things I’ve done is request a Canadian ID card from them, since I occasionally drive over to Canada (I live in Michigan). I’ve never needed to use it in Canada, but it is convenient to have and reassures you that you will have it if you ever need it. So really, my overall opinion of GEICO ranges between positive and indifferent. I cannot say just how good of a company they are since I’ve never had to make a claim, but their rates are the best I can find.

    Reply

  • marie v

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 44444
    Service 44444
    Claims 44444

    I decided to switch to Geico 4 years ago, after I was involved in an accident and had a different insurance company. Geico was the company of the person who hit me,and while my company was not helpful or insightful on what to expect from the process, I found the Geico representatives to be amazing, helpful and knowledgeable. They helped me set my appointments and get a rental with little to no wait time. They never bothered me when the repair took too long from the shop, instead they called, apologized and offered me to upgrade my rental car to a large suv with a free tank of gas. They were so helpful that I switched immediately. I have never been happier.

    I have had them for 4 years and they have always been a breeze to deal with. I have had two broken windshields and because I am in Florida, it is free replacement- they got the company out in just 1 hour and did all of the leg work including scheduling and calling me to confirm 15 minutes before arrival. After both installations of the windshields, they were courteous and called to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. Also, last year, a gentleman hit me on purpose, but not enough to do damage to his car. He hit me in a way that looked questionable, as if it could have been my fault. He quickly stated he would not go through insurance, but demanded 10,000 from me. I realized soon after, it was a scam and reported the accident through my insurance company- They stated it would not go through as a claim if there was no report from the other gentleman, but they agreed it sounded like a scam. When the guy called me, I gave him the number to the Geico rep, but he was only trying to extort money from me again. Geico was wonderful in helping me deal with this too.

    Reply

  • quentin

    |

    Overall Rating 22222
    Price 33333
    Service 44444
    Claims 33333

    The cost of my GEICO premium has gone up without any rhyme or reason, because of this unwarranted increase I decided to take my business elsewhere. My auto insurance policy was active from 06/12/13 – 12/12/13. To buy a new policy for the next six months (12/12/13 – 06/12/14), my premium was $423.19 for the first month installment. I chose not to pay this premium and instead purchased auto insurance from a competitor company. GEICO is now billing me $423.19, indicating I owe them for the new policy premium, even though I have informed them verbally and in writing that I no longer want an insurance policy through GEICO.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Overall Rating
Price
Service
Claims