Compare Rates From Leading Companies
Save Up To 46% on Car Insurance
Enter Zip Code:
Start My Quote Takes 5 minutes to complete.

Esurance Reviews

2.3 stars out of 5 based on 49 reviews from actual customers


Overall Rating2.352.352.352.352.35
Price2.42.42.42.42.4
Service2.422.422.422.422.42
Claims2.322.322.322.322.32

Esurance Reviews LogoFounded in 1998, Esurance became one of the fastest growing auto insurance companies in the United States.  Once known for their pink-haired superhero agent, Erin, Esurance – now an Allstate company – is a popular destination for online car insurance shoppers. The following Esurance insurance reviews are from actual customers.

ADVERTISEMENTS

Esurance is not a traditional auto insurance company. They primarily reside online with agents selling their policies throughout the country. They seem to simplify the buying process and live up to their former  ‘Quote. Buy. Print.” tagline. If you have Esurance car insurance, leave a review about your experience – good or bad. To see reviews for a different company, checkout these auto insurance reviews.

Reviews (49)

  • Ursula K

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 44444

    I’ll be honest up front: I’ve never had to use my insurance. I’m lucky in that regard. But I am pretty confident that if the need ever arose, I wouldn’t regret going with Esurance. They’re definitely affordable and when I was researching different insurance companies, I found getting an honest quote out of them the easiest. It’s also super easy to change your policy if necessary and to access new cards, make payments, get ahold of customer service, all that good stuff. Insurance shouldn’t be complicated in my opinion, and Esurance definitely isn’t. I do pretty much everything online, I even work online, so having my insurance from an online company isn’t a big deal to me. I can understand how it might be intimidating to others though and I find that whenever I recommend it to people, I’m met with hesitation on that front. We’re living in an increasingly digital world, so you’re gonna have to get used to it! I think they’re owned by a brick and mortar company now anyway, so that should assuage some fears. Like I said, I’ve never had to use my insurance so I’m not completely sure how well they handle claims or anything like that. But the price can’t be beat and the ease of having online insurance is awesome. I’ll be sure to update my review if I should, knock on wood, ever have reason to but I’m totally happy with the service I’ve received so far and I recommend at the very least looking into Esurance.

    Reply

  • L. King

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    Esurance helped me greatly a few years ago, when I was paying way too much for my insurance. I, unfortunately, got a DUI in 2009, and was forced to purchase SR-22 insurance. I had carried SR-22 with a different company for about a year, and was paying an astronomical amount of money.

    I contact Esurance for a quote, and it was half of what I was currently paying. I signed up immediately. Since that time, I have been fortunate enough to not have to use the insurance for a claim, but the company has been nothing but helpful anytime I have a question. They have given me additional discounts for getting married (and almost every time I renew!), and have also allowed me to change my payment due date once, when I had a rough month. All in all, my experience with Esurance has been fantastic and I would recommend them to anyone

    Reply

  • r fleming

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 33333

    A couple of years ago, I was having many money issues. While trying to economize, I decided to look for other car insurance. I looked at all of the big insurance companies and found one that gave me the best price, esurance. They beat many offers by $30 or $40 per month!

    I haven’t filed a claim yet and if I ever do, my opinion may change, but overall I am very pleased with them. There are easy ways to contact them if I have a question. When a payment is due, they send me an email. I can also change the method of payment too. And when I contacted my previous company to cancel their policy, they asked if I would stay with them. They offered me several discounts if I would stay with them but it still wasn’t low enough to suit my needs.

    To me, the best thing about esurance is the support. When I contact them, I can do it on the internet. I don’t like trying to reach someone on the phone. In most companies, if you try to reach someone by phone, usually you have to remain on hold for awhile before you can actually talk to someone. Why should I wait on hold when I can accomplish the same thing by sending an email? Plus, they have many discounts too! They even gave me a discount for my PayPal account! I was not expecting that. It was a wise choice to switch to esurance.

    Reply

  • Michael C

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    I have been a customer of Esurance for nearly three years now and I must say I have been very satisfied with their services and accommodations. Shortly after purchasing my car insurance my vehicle broke down and I needed to have it towed to a repair shop.

    The claims process was very easy, I spoke to a customer service representative and I was instructed to fax over a copy of the tow bill along with my policy ID number, and within a week or two I received full reimbursement by check. I was not given a hard time even though my policy was only a few weeks old. The service was very helpful and friendly and I was more than satisfied.

    E Surance makes it very easy to update or change my coverage whether it’s done from my laptop computer or by using their android application on my phone. I have access to print copies of my insurance cards without having to request them by phone, and my monthly premium gets charged automatically to my credit card each month. E Surance also provides great coverage at low rates. I currently own two vehicles. I have full coverage on one and liability on the other and the cost is less than what my previous company charged for just one car.

    E Surance is also owned by Allstate which is a very reputable company so you can expect good quality service. E Surance is an A+ in my book and I highly recommend them to those who are looking for a change.

    Reply

  • Chad Brooks

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    The only actual reason I don’t use them now is because they did not offer a good price coverage when I moved from Missouri to Denver.

    In any circumstance, When I just moved to Denver, they had a very large hail storm. My car was completely hail damaged. I immediately reported to the insurance company, and they told me that I just needed to go to a certain hail repair shop that would provide them a quote. I was surprised that no adjuster needed to come look at my car! They quoted it at over $5,000 in damage and I had a deductible of $1000 so they submitted the quote to Esurance. to my surprise, Esurance was very quick in sending me the money, as i received it about 4 days later. In fact I decided to Keep the money instead of spending it to fix my car!

    Besides having the nice convince of having a claim paid right away, some of the other positive attirbutes I loved about Esurance include their usability of their online website where you can print and download everything you need. In fact they told me they don’t mail you anything, which is perfectly fine with me. I also really enjoyed their availability for anything 24 hours a day, even items not related regarding claims, such as billing questions, etc.

    The only negative thing I can say about them is I wish they would had been cheap enough to have them as my car insurance in Colorado. However, regarding their service and availability in Missouri, I will never forget them!

    Reply

  • Chad

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I have been a licensed Insurance Agent for over 13 years, I have seen every trick in the book. So BEFORE I started my policy I called in and made sure the MVR, CLUE and Credit was ran to ensure the premium I was quoted was correct. The Esurance rep said he ran all the reports and advised the premium he quoted was firm.

    Well, today about 3 weeks after starting my Esurance policy I get an email and discover my premium has increased over $300 every 6 months. Of course I called in and talked to one of their reps. She tired to feed me the BS line they must pass off on everyone else. About after the quote they ran some reports hence the increase in premium. When I pressed her on what these mystery reports were she started with MVR. Nope, I have the quote and policy binding doc showing MVR was ran BEFORE policy started. She then said CLUE, nope that was ran as well. As was whatever credit scale they use.

    She could not give me anything close to a straight and logical answer on the bait and switch. Apparently it is my problem to get this corrected? Odd, as I would NEVER bind a policy until I had proof and their word the premium was firm.

    That’s fine, I have dealt with the folks at the Insurance Commissioners office before, calling them tomorrow.

    Reply

  • Valencia Demerson

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    After being with Esurance for six months my rates increased due to losing a credit that I had after my renewal. After two months into my renewal I cancelled my policy and went with State Farm because they gave me a better rate alone with my homeowner insurance.After recieving my premium I was shock that the premium was much higher than what was quoted. I reinstated my auto insurance with Esurance and a few days later my son had an accident. Five days later we called Esurance and called in a claim when we found out how much damage was done to his car.Long story short Esurance rep Karen Couch called my son and set up a rental. After 4 days in a rental the rental car rep called my son and ask him to bring the rental because Esurance were no longer covering the rental. This was in the middle of a work day and week, but no body called my son and informed him that they werent covering the rental anymore.When my son called Karen Couch that was when she informed him that they were not covering his car for repairs. Although his car was considered totalled they didnt want to cover anything. We asked to speak to a supervisor and after arguing with Karen Couch we were given the name of Carlos. To this day Carlos hasnt returned our calls. This is what you need to expect from Esurance. My son now have a car with two missing tires and rimes a leaking power steering and a cracked frame. A total lose for a 2007 car.

    Reply

  • Shannon

    |

    Overall Rating 22222
    Price 22222
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I had Esurance for a good while before I was in my first accident–a woman had turned into oncoming traffic from a side road (not intersection) at the same moment I signaled and switched lanes on the main road. The police arrived and said they couldn’t determine fault, as there were no witnesses and so they didn’t know if I had actually signaled.

    I called Esurance right away and let them know. I gave my full statement. I called back a week or so to check on it, and the rep had the story totally wrong! The other driver told them she was already driving on the main road, and the rep totally disregarded my statement that said otherwise, as well as the police report.

    Long story short, because of their errors and carelessness, they decided not only that each driver should pay for their own damage, but technically made me at fault for a 5,000+ accident, which has now put a HUGE mark on my record that drives my insurance rates- for all companies- through the roof. Ridiculous. They’re great–until you need something.

    Reply

  • Julie

    |

    Overall Rating 33333
    Price 11111
    Service 33333
    Claims 55555

    I had ESurance for years, after switching from state farm. I saved a lot of money, and was paying a low rate. About a year ago, the rates suddenly made a big jump. They said it was due to the rise in insurance costs in my area. I recently traded in my Audi Roadster, sporty convertible for a family car. 2011 Nissan Rogue. They wanted to charge me double what I was paying! I thought that was insane. I searched other insurance companies, and EVERY company was going to charge me less, I ended up switching to Geico where I am now paying less than half what Esurance wanted. Aside from the cost jump, I will say I had a positive experience with them, and if you can get a good rate, I recommend it. I did have one claim with them, and it was handled very easily.

    Reply

  • Jessica M

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    My husband and I have been insured through Esurance for about a year now and so far, we are both very happy with it. We had used another insurance company, but decided to shop around for a better rate when we were looking for ways to save money. Esurance offered a very competitive rate and without sacrificing the coverage we wanted, and saved us about $45 a month! They offer several discounts that we were eligible for, like a homeowner’s discount, which is great too.

    I love the free Esurance app because it allows me to keep a current record of our coverage with me no matter which vehicle I’m in. This came in handy about a month ago when I driving my husband’s truck and was stopped at an insurance checkpoint by State Troopers. I couldn’t find his insurance card anywhere and was ready to start panicking when I realized I could just pull up my insurance card on my smart phone! The officers made sure my coverage was current and sent me on my way. I was so thankful for the free app, and even happier to have avoided a very expensive ticket!

    If we ever have to file a claim with Esurance in the future, the process is super simple. The company offers several ways to file claims or contact a representative; I go online, use the app, or call and speak to an actual human being- no matter what time or day it is! If my car needs to be repaired, Esurance provides a list of repair shops near me that participate in the “E-Star Direct Repair garantee,” which means the repairs made on my vehicle are covered for as long as I own it. I can even monitor the progress of repairs on my vehicle via the smartphone app or the website.

    So far, my husband and I have been very happy with our Esurance policy, their customer services, and the extra money we save each month!

    Reply

  • Junior

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Don’t ever use this company for any reason!!! My car was giving to a body shop for an insurance job and esurance made the check out to his body shop and it was suppose to be a twelve day job so about two months go by and the body shop is giving me the run around so I called esurance and they told me it was my prob. So now about another 18 months go by and still esurance will not help. Finally I have the police come with me to get my car and I had the owner arrested for insurance fraud. Now when I got my car back it was missing interior and exterior parts and there is no paint left on the car. And once again esurance told me it was my prob.i pay 3200 dollars a year for car insurance.what for? This company is a joke. I will be leaving esurance As soon as my policy is up and I advise everybody to do the same

    Reply

  • TERRY

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Essurance sucks. I took my daughter off the policy a week before the termination date and they charged me an extra $45.99. Yet they only wanted to drop my next six month premium by $10 a month. They were charging 265 every six months for her car which I aslo dropped. Then they just kept giving me the run a round instead of answering my question.

    Reply

  • Bj Harrison

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I have had nothing but problems getting a policy with alstate. First the wron start up date. 4 phone calls to be told we can not start it for 1 1/2 weeks. Then can no log on to get info. Call for help they are nice and do nothing. Want to cancel but can not get my money back. Do not use alstate from esurence. Nothing but problems with no help.

    Reply

  • David L

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 44444

    I recently switched from Geico to E-surance after an extensive search for a better price on my car insurance. I’m a very careful driver. I have only had 1 claim in 26 years of driving, so I’m willing to sacrifice a little bit to get a better deal.

    When I went to the esurance website, I was very pleased with the interface. You can see in real-time how a change in your policy will affect your price so you can decide on the spot what coverages are most important to you. I wound up choosing the exact same policy I had with Geico, except that Esurance’ price was just barely over HALF of what I was paying Geico.

    I’ve seen other favorable reviews of esurance on the web, and the several hundred dollars a year I’m saving made it an easy choice to switch. I did have to call customer service to finalize the change. Although the entire transaction can be done online, I needed to speak with someone to be sure I was submitting the correct paperwork from my old insurance company. The gentleman was very pleasant, personable, and didn’t give the impression at all that he was speaking from a script. It felt to me like he was just an insurance expert, and could have answered most of my questions right off the cuff, and we actually had a pretty good time laughing and joking. That really raised my confidence level that I had made the right choice to switch.

    That interection left me feeling like any claim I had would be handled fairly and professionally. Esurance has many, many discounts that you may qualify for, and the initial “interview” form that I filled out was really determining which of these I was qualified for, so I didn’t have to hunt around for hours to be sure I wasn’t missing out on anything. The entire process took about 40 minutes, including the call to Geico to break them the bad news.

    I would absolutely recommend that you grab your current insurance policy and at least go to Esurance’ website to check their rates. You’ll be able to tell in just a few minutes how their rates will compare to your carrier.

    Reply

  • A.G.

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Esurance is the worst thing ever. I got their insurance online and was paying my monthly online. After the third month they sent me a letter telling me that they were going to have to start charging me more and that I owed them money for the previous months that had been covered because they all the sudden decided to charge me more. I did not have any accidents or tickets in that short period of time. I saw what they had on my record before i signed up with them so its not like they all the sudden found something new that needed to be adressed. I wouldnt bother with this company.

    Reply

  • Allstate customer

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    The problem with Esurance with me is the fact that Allstate wanted to jump into the Internet Insurance business. Being an Allstate customer in their hometown market of Chicagoland has been a joke. I have had policies with them for 31 years and have been pretty happy. Funny thing happened after they bought Esurance. With no claims in over 15 years , my rates began to rise. A little here, a little there. Basically in the last 4 years they have doubled my homeowners and my two autos have gone up $300. The whole time they have been running a campaign saying they are a Chicago company and our rates were going to go down. What is my point? During a shareholder meeting it came out that the Allstate policy holders were being ripped off to finance Esurance. There was talk of the CEO being fired. and rightfully so. Basically Allstate is running a Ponzi scam to get people to sign up with Esurance. They took money from our pool and put it in Esurances. While my friends and coworkers are getting checks from State Farm, Farmers and others for being claim free, we are getting are rates raised. So while I’m not an actual customer of Esurance, my premiums to Allstate have paid for it’s start up. I never agreed to this. It has cost the policy holders and investors money. Being that I have not had to deal with a claim in 15 years I have no firsthand knowledge of how it works now. All I have is people I know that say the same thing that people on this site have said. Allstate now has vanishing claims adjusters that just screw you around. Totally unexecetable excuses so they can drag your claim out. I’m sorry if someone in your household is sick but can I have a different adjuster? My old Allstate agent went idependent and I am having a new house built but it won’t be ready until spring.Then I’m going to him to shop for better rates and a company that has a good reputation. If you look at some of the sites out there, I guess Allstate has become rather bad. I don’t know because I havent filed a claim in 15 years. What I do know is my rates are rising and there is no real reason for this. I talked to my new agent about this and even recieved Emails from Allstate asking me how I felt about my rate increase. How do you think I feel? I’m claim free and you raise my homeowners $150? From what I understand Allstate has really gone down hill. I just pay my bill. Remember this though, you will be dealing with Allstate and their questionable ways if you have Esurance. Lower rates mean nothing if you can’t get any service if you need it. God forbid I have to file a claim before I switch companies. Basically Esurance = Allstate = BAD.

    Reply

  • aaa

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 22222
    Claims Not Rated

    RATES SKYROCKETED WHEN THEY TEAMED WITH ALLSTATE!! I have had Esurance for several years. I had no problems with them and their rates were reasonable, That was until they teamed with Allstate last fall. When our policy renewed this year our rates went way up. At first we didn’t noticed it since we have automatic bill pay. But we finally did. It went up over $60/month. When I called to find out why they said they did a statewide policy review. It was based on the number of claims OTHER drivers in my STATE have, even if they are not insured with esurance. So that meant that any driver in my state who gets insurance with them all have a rate hike even if they have no accidents or tickets. It is NOT based on just my driving record !! I told them that’s not fair and at my age I should not be paying rates that I was paying when I was in my 20′s. They told me that they understood if I want to find a new carrier but they would charge me $50 for early cancellation. So they sock it to me with the rates then again because I want away from them. Stay away from this company!

    Reply

  • Zamora

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    Esurance has been my car insurance company several years ago now. I can’t be more happy to be their customer.

    Esurance has been there when I needed them; around 2 years ago I had a small car accident and unfortunately my kids were with me, long story short I was literately in shock after that happened. When I called my insurance to report the incident, Esurance representative was so wonderful with me; she answered every single question I had in a very nice way. They took care of me and and even after a couple of weeks she called me back just to check on me.

    Honestly, I highly recommend this insurance company with all my family and friends; they are really the best car insurance company out there.

    Reply

  • DavidL

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 33333

    I used to be insured with Geico. In fact, I was on their plan for about 6 years. They always had acceptable service. I made only one claim during that time period for a very minor incident (less than $500 claimed after deductible) and they did OK, but they did not blow me away.

    My mother called one evening to tell me how she had switched to some insurance company I had never heard of and saved $100 per year. My mother is not particularly adept at finding the best deal, so if she ran across this, I was sure I could beat her discount. With that resolve, I decided to take a chance and got several quotes on line. To my amazement Esurance was just a shade over half the price of my Geico policy, with EXACTLY the same coverages.

    I did some more research on line and found out that people thought favorably of their customer service, so I signed up with them. The entire process was handled online in about 10 minutes with a very simple interface. You can select your various coverages and see your premium instantly. I thought that was a great feature. I also had to call their customer service line for a clarification on some documentation I needed from Geico, and they were very friendly and efficient. I also did not have to deal with a “language barrier,” if you know what I mean.

    We’ll see what happens if I have to make a claim, but with the money I’m saving every month ($65, or almost $800/yr!), it almost doesn’t matter. They offer tons of discounts, the main ones I took advantage of were “Switch and Save” and “Fast Five.” Switch and Save was a significant discount for coming directly from another insurer, and Fast Five saves you 5% for starting your quote on line.

    Most importantly, these discounts are just applied when you start your quote. You don’t have to find out about discounts you are not receiving after you’ve paid premiums for several months. While I was there I looked into a quote for homeowners insurance which would save me $300 per year and took advantage of that too! So basically for a few minutes on line and a brief phone call, I am saving $1100 a year.

    Reply

  • Rosie G

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Bad, bad auto insurance company. After speaking with a representative back in October 2011, they stated that my rates would drop considerably, since my only speeding ticket would come off December 2012. Well, it’s December 2012, and my rate just went up $10 a month. I asked for the reasoning behind the increase in my policy and this is what they said:

    ————
    We apologize for the confusion. The renewal premium is increasing to $xxx.xx because we have changed our rate plan in your state. We filed a new rating plan with your state because of general trends in claims frequency and severity that we have experienced in your state. As you probably know, all insurers have to keep money in the bank to pay claims. When we have to pay more for claims, unfortunately, we have to raise rates. This is the “cost of doing business” at Esurance or at any insurance company. The only incident on your driving record that we are rating on is the accident from xx/xx/2011. Like any insurance company, we are mandated by the state of Texas to keep all of our rating factors and procedures on file with their Department of Insurance. Because of this, we are required to charge the correct amount of premium in accordance with the way we are filed to do business in your state. Unfortunately, this means that we are not legally able to negotiate your premium or match another company’s rate. While we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or frustration that this may cause you, we do need to stay in compliance with state regulations.
    ———

    So my question is that if they are suppose to be charging the correct amount, then why is it going up after the ticket is dropping? It’s a load of crap that they have changed the policy, because I asked for the documents, and they have/wont forward the documents.

    BUYER BEWARE!!!!

    Reply

  • Anne Studstill

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    Esurance is a very affordable type of auto insurance that can be obtained online in minutes even with a Visa debit card from a bank. The proof of insurance can be printed out immediately after the payment is processed.

    If you are buying a vehicle, it is best to get the insurance before driving it, and Esurance makes it easy, affordable, and fast. You can easily switch from one card to another online if you wish to pay with a different account, and extra coverage can be added or deleted at any time. You can even extend the payment due date for a small fee.

    Esurance pays up to the agreed upon amount for damages if you are in an accident, and a minor accident in which you are at fault may not increase the amount owed monthly by very much. The Esurance staff are very courteous on the phone. If you move to another state, they will carry any credit from your previous policy over to the new policy for the new state. This can be done within minutes. Proof of your new policy can be seen online after speaking with a representative by phone.

    The only negative comment I have about Esurance is that they charge a large fee if you cancel the policy early. Also the minimum requirements for auto insurance vary by state. You could be paying much more for your policy in Florida than in California for instance.

    Despite the charges for canceling the policy, Esurance is a good choice due to the convenience and minimal time required to purchase a policy online and the affordable cost compared to most other auto insurance providers.

    Reply

  • Roger

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Dont Buy Essurance its the worst company in the world, they are very bad insurance company.

    Reply

  • julianne

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    DO NOT GET THIS INSURANCE!!!!! They automatically will keep taking money from your bank account even with asked not to. And if you want to try to speak to a representative its impossible with the run around they give you! They will not return your e mails or phone calls, you have to stay in top of everything. When I called I was transfered back and fourth and everytime I had to do on hold for at least 30 minutes!!! No one knows what’s going on there, I was told one thing by one person, and another thing by another, but then got an e mail saying something different!!! I am so upset that I dished out money to this company!!! Read the reviews before making your decision!!! But I reccomend you do not get esurance!!!

    Reply

  • C. Rodriguez

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims Not Rated

    This is the second time I get esurance.com. I had left them because I bought a Cadillac and GMC offered me a better rate through their GMAC insurance. This rate went up after about 1 1/2 years and I started shopping around again for new insurance. After shopping around I ended up back with esurance.com.

    They are an excellent company with so far great customer service. Even though they pride themselves on their amazing online functionality and service they are also extremely efficient and helpful over the phone. I first called them to get a quote being that I had a question during my online process. They immediately looked up the application and saw how far I had gone and then proceeded to help me with the rest of the process. after all was finalized I still had to go do inspections on my car which I did within the time allotted and they followed up by sending me an email confirming they had received the inspection and my insurance was up to date. I have never had any other insurance company do this, in fact, it usually takes me sending over proof of inspection, etc. When it comes to their pricing they are also quite competitive.

    I quoted 3 different companies before switching back to them and the prices were significantly higher than esurance. Bottom line I would recommend them as long as you find their prices within a reasonable rate that competes with your other options. I would however recommend that if you are not internet savvy and you feel like you need to always talk to someone you look into another company….very much like Geico, esurance.com has all their services including ID cards via their website.

    Therefore, make sure you feel comfortable with using online services. I filed a claim with the first time I had them and it was seamless. I highly recommend this company.

    Reply

  • Andrew

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I have been a customer with esurance for 3 years. For 3 years I did not have a single claim. The day I had to file a claim was when I found out how useless esurance is. My car was totaled out by a claims adjuster, the other driver involved was paid out but it took 6 weeks for esurance to pay me, 6 weeks after they closed my claim. I ended up having to get the regional manager to debit my account. Their rank and file claims reps are incompetent and impossible to reach via phone or email.

    Upon filing a second claim (a driver hit me in a parking lot) they are once again impossible to reach. Phantom agents that have only voicemall boxes, email adresses and that never return my calls or emails.

    Avoid this company at all costs. Spend a little more and get actual insurance.

    Reply

  • Veronica

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    The worst company I have ever come in contact with. They say one thing and then do another. Terrible ethics

    Reply

  • NORRIS-0311

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims Not Rated

    These people are exactly what you want to try and avoid when purchasing car insurance.

    Their prices will always be more than what they tell you. They will collect all your information first, then jump your prices after it’s too late to back out. They will use any excuse to raise your premium.

    There service sucks so much, they haft to threaten you with costly cancelation fees to intimidate you to stay with their policy.

    Their whole staff is focused on extorting money from you, not helping you.

    I have had many of insurance companys in the past, and got ripped off by the best of them. Esurance has been my largest mistake yet. Now I haft to wait 6 months to get out of the policy while they rip me off the whole time.

    LEARN FROM MY MISTAKES.

    Reply

  • Lou

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 22222
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Rip off for sure!

    They are/were myinsurance company. This other driver blows a red light and hits me who had a green light. Liberty Mutual his crappy insurance tells me its 20% my fault.Esurance was rude and did not want to help till I made them.

    Like everyone else says their rates also go up for no reason every 6 months as well. After this gets settled they are gone. Geico is $19 cheaper a month anyway.

    Reply

  • Paul Tarr

    |

    Overall Rating 33333
    Price 11111
    Service 44444
    Claims 55555

    Esuarnce is the biggest ripoff ever there rates are way to high in the state of Floridia. There customer service is really good they are willing to help when needed.

    Reply

  • Kivanc

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Esurance is the most incapable and untrustful company I have ever seen. One of their customers hit my car and they couldnt take a single police report for more than two weeks to pay my money back. They told me that, they requested the report but I was informed by police that they have not requested. At the end I had to take the report myself and send them. They are very rude and incapable. Stay away.

    Reply

  • sergio

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    run away from these company! had them for years with no need for service until 3 years ago. 2 claims for parkinglot fender benders. they double my payment. just today i was checking for the “clearance period” for the records for the rates to come back as they were 3 years ago. the rep told me to wait until the FIFTH ANIVERSARY (his own words) for the rates go normal again! called GEICO and had my premium reduced to LESS THAN HALF of Esurance! it’s even less that what i was paying 3 years ago! besides that they have better reviews too.

    Reply

  • M Fox

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 33333
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Not being and insurance sales person I called esurance and told them what I wanted in my policy. They asked what I was paying and came back with great discounts and a much lower rate. That rate went up each time I renewed and is now equal to where I was when I started. I trusted them to give me what I told them I wanted in my coverage which would equal what I had with my other company. BUT when someone threw a brick into my daughters car I find that that I didnt get the coverage that I asked for. Price is not worth it for this company. This bait and switch needs to be addressed. Did me telling them I was going to report them matter? Nope! They asked if I wanted to add the coverage for 69 dollars more. Wow! Going back to progressive!

    Reply

  • D Murrell

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 55555

    To be honest, I choose Esurance because it is easy and convenient to get, especially when I need proof of insurance quick.

    There are other fast, online e insurance sites now as well, but they are more fly by night operations, and they just don’t have the backing that Esurance does. Since Esurance got purchased by Allstate they have an even better and more trustworthy backing, and I feel a lot more confident that any claims I make are going to be honored. I have only been in one accident while I had Esurance, and while it was years ago, it was an incredibly simple process. The claim was handled quickly, and the customer service was fine, if not spectacular.

    The CS agent that I talked to took my information quickly, and did show that she was at least somewhat concerned with my well being. I just didn’t feel that extra something that I really like out of customer service, but I may be old fashioned. The claim was paid out quickly, and the company handled everything with little need for me to be involved. I have not had a claim in years and so my information may be a little bit out of date, but I have no complaints.

    Since I have come back to the company. I spent some time with other companies, and came back to Esurance mainly because of the cost issue. I was uninsured for a bit, and when I got a new car, and needed insurance it just seemed reasonable to go back to the company that handled my policy easily.

    As far as price, I consider them to be completely reasonable. It’s a monthly charge, and you have a variety of options for pay, much like other companies. They allow you to make choices as far as what options you would like on your policy, and what kind of coverage you would like. I don’t know what other options that they have, a lot of companies pride themselves on their bells and whistles, and at least my policy has none of that.

    There are companies that focus on all the other kinds of insurance you can have, Esurance does not seem to be one of them. The commercials are the only thing that really bugs me about the company, and that’s a small thing. In today’s market any companies commercials are going to bug you from time to time. They just bug the heck out of me.

    Reply

  • David Wainwright

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Avoid Esurance under all circumstance — they engage in bait and switch practices, and they caused by daughter to have a lapse in insurance coverage.

    About a month ago, my daughter leased a new 2012 Honda Accord. I called Esurance Insurance of New Jersey to get automobile insurance for the car. Esurance gave me a quote on the phone of $1576 for a six-month period. I accepted the quote, and gave the representative my credit card number in order to pay for the auto insurance.

    Several minutes later, the representative told me that the actual cost was $2024 for six months, and asked if I wanted them to keep my credit card number on file so that they could automatically renew the insurance. I was upset about the immediate spike in price after I gave them my credit card number, but I agreed to pay the $2024 so that my daughter had immediate car insurance. I declined their offer of keeping my credit card number on file.

    Esurance e-mailed my daughter a temporary insurance card for her to put in her car until the permanent card was mailed. Several days later, we received the permanent insurance card, and we immediately noticed that the effective date was June 1, 2012.

    We also noticed that the temporary card also had an effective date of June 1, 2012, even though we told Esurance that we needed insurance immediately on the new car. This is a delay of insurance of over two months. Esurance did not us give us a satisfactory answer when we called them, so we dropped them, and selected a new insurance company.

    Reply

  • Chrischan67

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I have been with Esurance since 2004 and never made a claim or got a ticket. I got into an accident about four months ago which fault wasn’t given to me or the other driver and niether of us got a ticket. Esurance totaled my car and initially didn’t want to give me what it was worth, but after I sent them some listings of the same car as mine that were for sale they paid me an amount that was very close to the highest listing price… I still was making payments with the bank for my car. They were friendly on the phone and somewhat helpful. They were supposed to reimburse me for days that i lost at work and they told me that the check was in the mail, but i still haven’t gotten it. Now my policy has been renewed a month early and my premium has more than doubled!! I have e-mailed them several times now about my reimbusment check and why my premium has more than doubled with no answer!! I ever threated to find a different insurance because i can’t afford the new premium and they still haven’t answered! I’m getting a different insurance!!! Beware of esurance!! Also, when I first started with them they took my payment out of my bank account twice!! They gave it back when I called them about it, but they also did the same to a friend of mine that uses them. They gave it back of course, but doesn’t that seem a little too suspicious??

    Reply

  • Sparko

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 22222
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Like the poster previously, I was hit by a Mr. K, who proceeded to flee the scene. I had to wait for repairs for six months, while Esurance arbitrated with the other party for liability, which was proven 100% at fault by Mr. K.

    Again, I must wait for settlement of my claim b/c Esurance does not trust those they insure. Never mind the fact that they get an electronic payment every month from me to pay for this service.

    Reply

  • kathy

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price Not Rated
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I had the misfortune to have been plowed into by a guy flying in reverse in a parking lot smashed into me… who happens to have whack esurance… he admitted fault… he was clearly at fault… he drove past me looking for a spot… after he passed me I began backing out… little did I know he had put his vehicle in reverse and full speed plowed into me… after calling 3 times… I finally got someone… who never asked if I (or my passenger) was ok… told me it did not matter that her insured had admitted fault, admitted he wasnt looking… she told me I was 50 percent at fault… never listened to me once… told me i had to file a claim with my own insurance… which i hung up on her and gladly called my own insurance (AAA) and they are taking excellent care of me… will get my deductible back and have determined that their driver was indeed at fault…
    esurance is terrible… long wait times on the phone… customer service sucks… they should have treated me as if they wanted me to become a customer of theirs… I would never recommend them… and will post my story as many times and places as i can so everyone can be aware… and hahaha… when the jerk insurance company gets the information that their insured is at fault… i hope they raise his rates…

    Reply

  • gail

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 22222
    Service 33333
    Claims 11111

    Total liars. Down payment quote was low right up until they are ready to process your payment….just then your quote magically goes up by $50 00 or more without a reasonable explanation (I haven’t received a ticket or had an accident in over twents years) . I should have followed my gut feeling, that this is a company that shouldn’t be trusted. They also jacked my monthly payment by more than $8.00 a month by saying it’s a processing fee. In this day of age where just about everything is paid online I can’t imagine why it would cost $8.00 to process anything unless you are trying to rip people off. I will admit that the customer reps were nice…but they lie to keep a job, I guess.

    Reply

  • Esurance is a horrible company!!"

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    ESurance should change there name to E-maginary insurance this company is a scam.. MY SUV WAS 1000% STOLEN OUT OF MY DRIVWAY!!! THE ADJUSTER SAYS THAT ONLY RETARDED PEOPLE ALLOW VEHICLES TO BE STOLEN AND THAT I GAVE MY KEYS TO THE LADY THAT STOLE MY SUV….STAY AWAY!!! I AM A PROFESSIONAL FATHER OF 5 AND MAKE $175,000++ A YEAR … I KNOW A SCAM WHEN I SEE ONE… TERRIBLE COMPANY!!!”

    Reply

  • Kpat

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I live in Illinois and have a similar situation with my premium increasing after I processed a claim. I paid my 500 deductible and 7months later I was refunded 480 because Esurance was able to get reimbursed from the insurance co. of the driver that hit me. Now after clearly determining that it was not my fault and even returning my deductible – I got a rediculous increase because the Illinois rate has increased due to various reasons (so i was told). I am currently seeking other quotes….

    Reply

  • kathy

    |

    Overall Rating 22222
    Price 11111
    Service 33333
    Claims 33333

    We have had Esurance for almost 4 years. I had a very small claim to the liftgate of my van this past summer due to my own fault. After paying my $500 deductable Esurance paid $600. I haven’t had a ticket or accident in 29 years. I just got my renewal rate. It went up $200 per 6 months! We insure 3 cars, with 3 drivers and all of us are ticket & accident free. When I called about this ridiculous rate increase I was told it was because I live in Illinois & they had an across the board rate increase for Illinois. Too many expensive claims in Illinois they said. I said well punish them not me! So we are taking our 3 car policy elsewhere. There are too many companies out there who are glad to have drivers like us……always pay our premiums every 6 months & NEVER have a ticket or accident. The one time I do, it is small & my rate jumps! NO MORE!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  • K. Pennington

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I thought I was extremely happy with eSurance’s prices and service. I recently had to file a claim because I hit a curb avoiding a dog in the road. I though it was a simple accident that could have happened to anyone, at any time. No points were accrued on my license, no other cars were involved and I was able to drive my car from the accident site to a repair center.

    The total claim was under $2,000 with a $500 deductible and the process was swift and easy. A great experience… I thought.

    Imagine my surprise when I received my policy renewal notice and my six month premiums increased from $604.52 per six month period to $1,734.36!!! That’s an increase of $1,129.84!!! That was almost as much as the entire claim! I immediately emailed Esurance and requested an explanation of the exorbitant rate hike. Four weeks later I’ve yet to receive any form of response.

    This was my first accident since 2000! And I’ve had continuous insurance coverage for well over the 5 years most companies ask about. Which means I’ve been paying for insurance that I haven’t used for 10 years only to be penalized the first time I need it for a small claim. Recouping almost the entire cost of a claim in ONE SIX MONTH PERIOD after an accident seems completely unreasonable to me. Why do we pay these premiums when we can’t comfortably rely on the insurance being available for a reasonable price after we use it?!?

    Reply

  • Susuba

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    It is now 5 weeks later and I am having trouble getting another insurance company. Esurance put the accident as my fault. The other driver admitted turning in front of me and was ticketed for careless driving. These are the most incompetent people I have ever dealt with. BEWARE

    Reply

  • Susuba

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Having been hit by another driver, while I was insured with Esurance, was a complete disaster. They did not want to do anything. They wanted me to deal with the other insurance company. They wanted me to pay for the claim and the rental, then go after the other insurance company for reimbursement. They were slow to return any of my calls (the ones they actually returned).

    My car has been in the shop for a month as of today. They held up repairs, and the estimate. Then when the repairs were done, the after market parts that they approved, didn’t fit properly. There were gaps between the new bumper, the new headlight and the new fender. The initial estimate was $144 higher and included new Hyundai parts as my car is only one year old.

    After three weeks of being lied to and told many different stories, I told them “if they needed any more information from me, they could talk to my lawyer”. Them I hung up on them. I have reported them to The BBB and the NJDOBI (they handle licensing of insurance companies in NJ). Since then, they have sent a check to the repair facility, sent me a check for my deductible, and called me to apologize for how long this was taking. My complaint was for being lied to and the fact they weren’t willing to do their job. I would never recommend using this company. They deserve zero stars, but I am required to give at least one.

    Reply

  • Dochupa (Texas)

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 44444

    I bought Esurance auto insurance recently and i am very much satisfied about their price, value, and service. I was fooled by other auto insurance company by paying them more than what i am paying Esurance now. I am saving upto $700 now after i bought Esurance.Their online service is so easy to use.Anyone who is in search of a reliable auto insurance company can just choose Esurance.

    It is a well-trusted insurance company.When it comes to the handling of claims and customer service, I would say that Esurance is the best company who give importance to their valuable customers.The staffs of Esurance are so customer friendly and quick to help.They quoted the best rates for me when compared to others and helped me save my money.I got the right choice and i would recommend Esurance to everyone.

    Reply

    • ron treadaway

      |

      Overall Rating 55555
      Price Not Rated
      Service Not Rated
      Claims Not Rated

      I just got esurance my other policy was way to much so i got a quote saved me 200 dollars i would higly recomend eserence so more people should check it out

      Reply

  • David Vance

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims Not Rated

    My experience?…Professionalism at it’s best!

    I have car insurance on my two vehicles for 17 years with another company. When I received my new policy, they were asking for $4,400 for the year. I checked my last premium and last year I paid $4,200. With the failing economy I decided to check around for an alternative. I decided on Esurance. The cost was almost half as much for the same coverage. I gave them my credit card information to pay the first 6 month premium in full. Esurance encouraged me to alert my 17 year company I was not going to renew. I did, and not wanting to loose me as a customer, they counter offered for a little less than what Esurance quoted. I contacted Esurance to tell them I had decided to remain with my 17 year affiliation and asked if they could please credit my credit card. They understood and said they would comply, however, I was bracing myself for aggravation that they wouldn’t do it at all or even in a timely manner. Two days later I received a cancellation notice from Esurance and three more days later I checked my credit card to see if there was a credit for the full amount and there it was. I would recommend Esurance for their professionalism alone and I would advise unhappy customers to handle their responsibility using Esurance to read and follow their policy of doing their business with them online. In the future, if I have any problem with my current insurance company, my next call will be to go back to Esurance to handle my car insurance. I am a very happy almost customer, and maybe a future customer of Esurance.

    Signed, a complete stranger to Esurance. I swear this is not a fake review.

    Reply

  • Tammy D

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    Esurance is absolutely amazing. When I had my first car accident at age 30, they took incredible care of me. They sent me to a top of the line repair facility, they had me picked up by a rental car company at the repair shop and took care of all the payment arrangements for my rental car. They even sent me email updates showing me pictures of my car’s repair process during each stage. They really made me feel like they were there for me. By far the best insurance company out there.

    Reply

  • Elle Q.

    |

    Overall Rating 44444
    Price 33333
    Service 33333
    Claims 44444

    They were quick and easy to get coverage with, and I was called back in the middle of the night when I got it to start coverage right then. All in all it was very easy to set up. Their customer service wait times are terrible, and they do try and hard sell more coverage then what you need. I have not had to call in for claims, but they were very helpful in sending the information pack again when it was lost in the mail, and called to make sure that I had gotten it. Overall, the ease of using this company far outweighs the times I have needed to call them, and in general it’s been a good experience.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Overall Rating
Price
Service
Claims