Don’t get stung for not having Utah car insurance in the Beehive State.
|State Regulator Information||800-439-3805||www.insurance.utah.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,192||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/65k
Property Damage Liability: $15k
Utah car insurance requirements are definitely different when compared to other states. Not because of what they require, but because of the amount they require one certain coverage. The amount that they require for the total bodily injury under the liability coverage is more than double from what is required for one person. This stands out because most of the other states just double the single amount.
Regardless of how different it is though, don’t get caught without it or you will end up paying a lot more than if you were to just stay insured.
Limits Required for Utah Car Insurance
Required liability coverage for Utah car insurance:
• $15,000 for another person’s property damage
• $25,000 for injuries caused to another party not in your vehicle
• $65,000 total paid out for all injuries to other parties not in your vehicle
Required coverage for you under Utah car insurance law:
• $3,000 in personal injury protection coverage to pay for your own medical expenses resulting from a car accident
Utah Car Insurance Enforced with Insure-Rite
One state after another is turning to electronic monitoring of insurance compliance. One way or another these computer systems keep track of the car registrations in the state and then take action when there is no insurance currently active on that registered vehicle.
In Utah they use a system called Insure-Rite. This system matches up the vehicles registered in the Utah DMV computer with the information that it gathers from the insurance companies that sell insurance in Utah. When the system finds a car that is registered, but has no insurance on it, the system automatically generates a letter. This letter goes to the registered vehicle owner asking them why they have no insurance. They have the chance to respond on the letter as to why there is no insurance or provide proof that it is a system error and that they are in fact insured.
Penalties for No Utah Car Insurance
If you are caught without Utah car insurance on a registered vehicle, it is going to hurt. Driving without Utah car insurance is a Class B misdemeanor. The first time you get caught your fine will be no less than $400. If you just didn’t get the message and get caught again, your fine jumps to $1000 for each time after that.
These fines are just the start, you will also lose your driver’s license and your car registration will be suspended.
Getting Your Utah Car Insurance Back on Track
When you decide you are ready to drive again after getting caught without insurance the first time. Your license will have to be reinstated along with your vehicle registration. To reinstate your registration, you will have to purchase Utah car insurance with an SR-22 form on it. This means that your insurance is going to be much more expensive than before.
After you provide your proof of Utah car insurance and pay your $100 reinstatement fee, you will be allowed to re-register your vehicle.
Trackback from your site.