It’s the season for long drives, parades, and Richmond car insurance.
Road trips and parades are two of the non-food staples of summer. And to keep yourself enjoying both this summer, make sure that you keep both the Richmond car insurance laws and Richmond parade laws in mind.
Forgetting one or the other could lead to you finding yourself without your car for the rest of the summer.
Richmond Parade Laws
With the upcoming summer holidays, it would be good to refresh your memory on the parade laws that Richmond has:
“Sec. 102-509. Public conduct during parades, demonstrations and assemblies.
(a)Interference. No person shall unreasonably hamper, obstruct, impede or interfere with any parade, demonstration or assembly or with any person, vehicle or animal participating or used in a parade, demonstration or assembly for which a written permit has been issued in accordance with the provisions of this article.
(b)Driving through parades. No driver of a vehicle shall drive between the vehicles, persons or animals comprising a parade, demonstration or assembly except when otherwise directed by a police officer. This shall not apply to authorized emergency vehicles such as fire apparatus, ambulances and police vehicles.
(c)Parking on parade, demonstration or assembly route. The chief of police, or his designee, shall have the authority, when reasonably necessary, to prohibit or restrict the parking of vehicles along the public streets or public rights-of-way constituting a part of the route of a parade, demonstration or assembly. The chief of police, or his designee, shall ensure that signs are posted to such effect, and it shall be unlawful for any person to park or leave unattended any vehicle in violation thereof. No person shall be liable for parking on a street unposted in violation of this article.”
(Richmond Municipal Code)
Richmond Car Insurance
The State of Virginia creates the insurance requirements for every city in the state. So the car insurance requirements for your Richmond car insurance are exactly the same as it is for people that live in Norfolk.
These requirements include:
- Bodily injury/death of one person $25,000
- Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $50,000
- Property damage $20,000
If you don’t want to carry insurance, you can always opt for the other option on the Virginia DMV website:
The $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee, which is paid to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), does not provide any insurance; it only allows you to drive an uninsured vehicle at your own risk.It expires with your registration and must be paid at renewal.
For more insurance options, talk to your Richmond car insurance agent.
Trackback from your site.