You and your finances are protected when you comply with the mandatory North Dakota car insurance requirements; even if you vehicle isn’t.
|State Regulator Information||800-247-0560||www.nd.gov/ndins|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,710||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $25k
|UM/UIM:$25k/50kBasic No-Fault: $30k|
North Dakota car insurance requirements are up there with a small handful of other states that require almost every coverage available to be able to drive. The only coverages that you don’t have to carry to be able to drive in North Dakota are the coverages that protect only your vehicle.
However unpleasant having to purchase all of this North Dakota car insurance coverage may be; it could be worse. You could end up with a criminal record, fines, and a suspended driver’s license for driving without the required North Dakota car insurance.
Mandatory North Dakota Car Insurance
North Dakota car insurance requirements include:
• Bodily injury liability – minimum coverage of $25,000/$50,000
• Property damage liability – minimum coverage of $25,000
• Uninsured motorist – minimum coverage of $25,000/$25,000
• Underinsured motorist – minimum coverage of $25,000/$50,000
• Basic no-fault – minimum coverage of $30,000
Mandatory North Dakota Car Insurance Explained
Bodily Injury Coverage- This North Dakota car insurance coverage pays for medical expenses for other parties that you may cause injury to with your vehicle. The split coverage limits means that the $25,000 is the minimum amount of coverage you can have to cover a single person that you may injure. The $50,000 is the minimum coverage you can have to cover all parties you may injure in an accident.
Property Damage Liability- This North Dakota car insurance coverage compensates the other party for damages that you may do to their property with your vehicle.
Uninsured Motorist- Covers you in the event that you are injured by another party that has no insurance. It works in the same way that bodily injury liability coverage does, in that $25,000 is to cover a single person and $50,000 for all parties. This North Dakota car insurance coverage does not cover damages to your vehicle.
Underinsured Motorist- This North Dakota car insurance coverage works in very much the same way as uninsured motorist; the only difference is that it is for drivers that hit you that don’t have enough insurance. For North Dakota car insurance the coverage for underinsured motorist must match uninsured motorist. This North Dakota car insurance coverage does not cover damages to your vehicle.
Basic no-fault – Known in most states as personal injury protection; it provides you with coverage for medical expenses and other economic losses that you may suffer, from a car accident. This coverage will protect you regardless of who is at fault for the accident you are in.
Failure to Carry North Dakota Car Insurance
If you are caught without North Dakota car insurance and are in an accident, you will have 14 points added to your driving record. These 14 points will lead to a suspended driver’s license.
Even without getting into an accident, if you are caught without North Dakota car insurance you will receive a fine of no less than $150 and will be charged with a class B misdemeanor.
Trackback from your site.