The state allows you one “oops” for having no Missouri car insurance before they start increasing the penalties.
|State Regulator Information||800-726-7390||www.insurance.mo.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,207||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $10k
Missouri car insurance laws require that if you are a resident of Missouri, you have to carry the minimum amount of liability and uninsured motorist coverage Missouri requires. If you aren’t a resident of Missouri, you have to be carrying at least the minimum insurance coverage that the state you live in requires.
So, because we can’t go over the coverages in every single state here, let’s just go over what is required in Missouri.
What Liability Coverage is Required for Missouri Car Insurance?
The state requires that you carry a minimum of $25,000 in liability coverage to pay for the expenses that come from injuring another person with your vehicle. You are also required to purchase $50,000 in coverage for the same expenses, just in case you injure more than one person.
Missouri car insurance laws also require that you purchase insurance coverage that pays for the damages you cause to property that is owned by another person. The minimum that you are allowed to purchase is $10,000.
This $10,000 may sound like a lot of money, but in reality, when it comes to damages you can cause with your car it’s really not very much coverage. You may want to talk to your insurance agent about what amount of coverage would be best to protect you from financial trouble after a car accident.
What Uninsured Motorist Coverage is Required for Missouri Car Insurance?
Uninsured motorist coverage protects you, not the other person, in the event of a car accident. This coverage is for injuries only and can be used if you are hit by a driver that has no insurance or has left the scene of an accident.
The minimum required coverage for uninsured motorist is the same as the required liability coverage ($25,000/$50,000).
What are the Penalties for not Having Missouri Car Insurance?
If you don’t have insurance on your vehicle, you can see one of the following happen to you:
1. Your driver’s license is immediately suspended.
2. The court can order the Driver License Bureau to supervise your insurance coverage (to make sure you keep it active).
3. The court will enter a conviction against you and 4 points will be assessed against your driving record.
If you end up with a suspended license, the time period in which you can’t drive escalates the more suspensions you receive. For your first suspension, there is no mandatory suspension period. You simply have to provide proof you have insurance in place now and pay a $20 reinstatement fee.
The second suspension will find you without a license for 90 days. To get your license back you will have to provide proof of insurance and pay a $200 fee. The third suspension comes with a 1 year suspension and a $400 fee to get your license back, after you have provided proof of insurance.
Trackback from your site.