Maryland car insurance verifies your insurance cancellation electronically, but requires a form to verify you have it.
|State Regulator Information||800-492-6116||mdinsurance.state.md.us|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,327||National Average: $1,318|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$30k/60k
Property Damage Liability: $15k
Maryland car insurance requirements run a little higher than normal for what they require for bodily injury liability coverage, but about average for the required property damage liability coverage. Their insurance verification system however, is unique and can be tedious for both drivers and insurance companies. Unfortunately, if you fail to follow this Maryland car insurance verification system that the Motor Vehicle Administration has in place, stiff penalties await.
Required Maryland Car Insurance
Across the nation the property damage liability coverage that is required is always lower than what is required for bodily injury liability coverage. Maryland car insurance follows the same pattern and requires:
• $30,000 for bodily injury per person,
• $60,000 for bodily injury for two or more people, and
• $15,000 for property damage.
When you purchase this coverage, always discuss with your insurance agent if buying the minimum Maryland car insurance required is enough to protect you.
Penalties for no Maryland Car Insurance
If you are trying to get out of having to pay for Maryland car insurance and avoid getting caught for having no Maryland car insurance; the idea to forge your proof of insurance may come to your mind. As a strong word of advice, don’t listen to the idea in your head. Getting caught for providing false Maryland car insurance evidence will land you in jail for a year or with a $1000 fine (or both).
Now, if you don’t provide false proof of Maryland car insurance and just don’t provide any proof of insurance at all; it will be much easier on you. You will only face having your plates and registration suspended, $150 in fines for the first 30 days you are without insurance (after 30 days it is $7 a day), and cannot register any new vehicles or renew the registration on an already owned vehicle.
But hey, there’s no jail time involved.
Maryland Car Insurance FR-19
When the state requests proof of Maryland car insurance the only proof that they will accept is a FR-19 form. This request is usually triggered by cancelling your car insurance with a company, but can also be a result of buying a new vehicle or trading one in.
Insurance companies don’t notify the state when you have new insurance, only when you have cancelled insurance. This means that the state only knows that you no longer have the required insurance coverage; they don’t know that you replaced the coverage that you cancelled. Hence, the reason they need to verify that you have new coverage.
The requested FR-19 form can only be filled out by your insurance company. If your insurance company does not send the required FR-19 form then you are the one that will be penalized, so it is very important to contact your insurance company immediately to have them send the form.
It is also important to follow up with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration to make sure they received your FR-19 to verify you Maryland car insurance coverage.
Trackback from your site.