Don’t get caught trying to pass off fake proof of Kentucky car insurance; just buy the real thing.
|State Regulator Information||800-595-6053||insurance.ky.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,503||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $10k
Kentucky car insurance does not have very high requirements, but for some that are pressed for money they may think that they are. They may also be pressed to not purchase the Kentucky car insurance and fake proof of insurance to get around the financial responsibility laws.
If this is you, Kentucky apparently already knows that trick and I wouldn’t recommend trying it.
Required Kentucky Car Insurance
Kentucky car insurance is another state that requires PIP (personal injury protection) coverage as part of its mandatory insurance coverage. The state requires that you carry no less than $10,000 in PIP coverage to be able to drive. Remember, PIP coverage is to cover your injuries and the injuries of those in your vehicle.
Kentucky car insurance requires ridiculously low liability coverage for property damage; it’s only $10,000. This is barely enough to have another person’s vehicle fix if you wreck it. Not to mention, that you will not have enough coverage if you total another person vehicle or if you damage multiple vehicles. What is not paid by your insurance company will come out of your pocket. Do you think the insurance premium for more coverage or the monthly restitution payments will be cheaper?
Liability coverage for bodily injury is a bit more reasonable under Kentucky car insurance law. The state requires the limits of 25/50 to be carried in order to drive. Bodily injury is the coverage that pays for the medical expenses of the party in the other vehicle.
With limits of 25/50, this means that the insurance company will pay up to $25,000 for one person’s medical bills and $50,000 total for all medical bills for two or more people.
Mandatory Kentucky Car Insurance Reporting Plan
Kentucky car insurance is tracked by the state through a data base. If you drop coverage or get dropped it is reported to the state by that insurance company that you have no insurance on a vehicle registered in the state. If you cannot prove that you do have insurance when requested, you will face stiff penalties.
Penalties for No Kentucky Car Insurance
Kentucky is not playing around with their insurance laws. If you try to pass off fake proof of insurance when you are asked for proof, you can be fined up to $1,000 and sent to jail for up to 1 year. That’s just for providing proof of fake insurance!
Not having insurance will get you a fine of up to $500 and no more than 90 days in jail. Looks like it is better to just fess up and admit you don’t have insurance, instead of trying to fake it. Since Kentucky keeps track of the insurance on registered vehicles in the state, they will eventually find out if you try to fake Kentucky car insurance coverage.
Trackback from your site.