The Gem State welcomes you; just make sure you have Idaho car insurance if you drive within our borders.
|State Regulator Information||800-721-3272||www.doi.idaho.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,053||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50kb
Property Damage Liability: $15k
The official state nickname of Idaho is the “Gem State”, but most people don’t know that as they know Idaho as the “Potato State” instead. So as an Idaho resident, let me clear up one thing for all of you that read this, we don’t all grow potatoes.
What happened was that the potato farmers were very good in getting the Idaho spud into the national market and created a reputation for the state. In fact, only a very small part of Idaho even grows potatoes, everyone just thinks that the whole state does. Just like in insurance where the crooked ethics of a few bad insurance companies create a bad reputation for the whole industry.
There are trustworthy insurance companies out there, but you probably don’t know that because of the blanket reputation that the whole industry has now. Just like you didn’t know that Idaho’s largest agricultural commodity is actually dairy products.
Now that you have learned a little about Idaho economics, let’s learn about Idaho car insurance requirements. Because you never know when you will want to escape to a more laidback lifestyle and become an Idahoan.
Idaho Car Insurance Minimum Requirements
To be able to drive in the state of Idaho you have to carry at least 25/50/15 liability limits with your Idaho car insurance. This means $25,000 in injury liability for one person and $50,000 in total injury liability for injuries to two or more people. Finally, the 15 is for the $15,000 in property damage liability for any damages that you may cause to another person’s property.
Idaho car insurance limits are about average as compared to other states. But, like the rest of the states the minimum liability required for the property damage with Idaho car insurance may not be enough coverage to fully protect you.
Penalties for No Idaho Car Insurance
First offenders of having no Idaho car insurance are subject to a $75.00 fine and a license suspension. The suspension is completely up to the discretion of the Idaho Transportation Department and the judge you face in court.
Second time offenders (within 5 years of the first offense), can be fined up to $1000. They can also face up to 6 months in jail and again a license suspension.
If you are an out-of-state driver and you are caught without insurance, Idaho will send that information to your home state if they are part of the interstate compact. The compact is an agreement between states, to report infractions earned in the states you drive in back to your home state. Your penalty will then depend on your own state’s “no insurance” laws.
No Idaho Car Insurance and No Driver’s License Now
If you are one of those that carry a large sense of entitlement when it comes to your driver’s license, you may be in more trouble than you know. Once your license is suspended for driving without Idaho car insurance this means that you cannot drive. Let me repeat that: YOU CANNOT DRIVE!
You are not entitled to a driver’s license it is something that is a convenience and a privilege and can be taken away if you don’t follow the rules. If you have been suspended and you still think you can drive, in Idaho you face mandatory jail time.
In fact, a minimum of two days and up to 6 months of jail time if you are caught driving with a suspended license. Also, you get a fine of up to $500 and an additional 6 months tacked on to the end of your current suspension from having no Idaho car insurance.
Trackback from your site.