Even though they track your insurance in a database, they still require that you carry around an insurance card.
|State Regulator Information||800-656-2298||www.gainsurance.org|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 2,201||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $25k
Georgia car insurance is required just like in every other state, they have fines and fees like other states do and they are big on suspensions also. Georgia is also one of the states that checks insurance compliance electronically for everyone and not just at random. If you get pulled over, your insurance card that you show to the officer will be required, but they pull your information from the compliance system to actually verify that you have valid coverage.
Minimum Limit of Georgia Car Insurance
Georgia car insurance requirements can be met with a liability limit of no less than $25,000 for property damage done to others. The bodily injury liability limits are required to be at $50,000 total for all injuries obtained by the other party that was caused by you. This total injury liability limit is broken down to no more than $25,000 being paid out for any one person’s injuries.
Georgia Car Insurance Database
Georgia car insurance is tracked through the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS). Insurance coverage has to be reported by all insurance companies that write insurance in the state to this system. They report new policies, cancellations and vehicle deletions. If your vehicle is not in this database as being insured, you are uninsured as far as the state is concerned.
Alternative Proof of Georgia Car Insurance
There are a number of different ways that you can show proof that you are insured for the state of Georgia. It doesn’t matter what way you choose, you have to have some proof of Georgia car insurance in your vehicle at all times.
If your insurance verification is not in the state database yet, you must carry with you the bill of sale (for a purchase within the last 30 days) and current insurance declarations page. This verifies that you have valid insurance and that you are just not in the database because the vehicle is new.
You can also choose to be self-insured in the state of Georgia. To be self-insured the appropriate papers and self-insurance plan has to be filed with the Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commission’s office. Once this has been approved, you can provide your self-insurance information card and certificate of self-insurance as proof of insurance in place of a regular insurance card.
Georgia Car Insurance Card
The state of Georgia requires that you carry a Georgia car insurance car in your vehicle at all times. It doesn’t matter that these cards are no longer considered an acceptable proof of insurance; you still have to have them. The state gives the reason that these cards are still required to be carried because when you travel out of the state, other states do not have access to the Georgia insurance data base to verify insurance.
They also give the reason that all the insurance information you may need to exchange after an accident is on the Georgia car insurance card.
Trackback from your site.