Birmingham car insurance can be expensive, but so can not having it.
The State of Alabama requires that all of its drivers carry mandatory liability insurance. This insurance makes sure that you are able to pay for any damages that you may cause to another person’s property or any injuries you may cause to another person.
Specifically, you are required to carry 25/50/25 limits for this Birmingham car insurance coverage. These numbers mean the following:
- 25 = $25,000 in coverage for the medical expenses of one injured person
- 50 = $50,000 in total coverage for the medical expenses of two or more injured people
- 25 = $25,000 in coverage to pay for damage to another person’s property
If you try to get out of paying for this mandatory insurance, you will find that it will end up costing you a lot more money than just getting the insurance in the first place.
Going Without Birmingham Car Insurance
The price to go without Birmingham car insurance is $500 for the first time you are caught without it and $1,000 for each time after that. Think about this, how many of you out there pay that amount for your mandatory liability insurance? And these fines don’t do anything for you. So save yourself some money and just pay for the car insurance.
In addition to the fine, you can lose your driver’s license for up to 6 months. So don’t forget to add in taxi or bus fare when you are trying to figure out if it is cheaper to get the Birmingham car insurance or go without it.
While driving without Birmingham car insurance is not as stupid as driving drunk, it is still stupid, and the State of Alabama thinks so also. The jail time and license suspension is a lot harsher with a DUI (and it should be) than with getting caught without car insurance, but the fines are comparable.
For your first DUI, the fine can range from $500 to $2,000. The fine for getting caught without car insurance for the first time is $500.
For your second DUI, the fine can range from $1,000 to $5,000. The fine for getting caught without car insurance for the first time is $1,000.
So the fines for driving without car insurance are the same as the minimum fines for DUI convictions; which shows you how serious the state is about insurance.
So save yourself money and contact a Birmingham car insurance agent today to get the mandatory liability coverage if you don’t already have it.
Trackback from your site.