In Florida, you have to carry your insurance card whenever you drive.
Yes, you can get a ticket in the state of Florida for not having proof of insurance on you when driving another person’s vehicle.
“The Financial Responsibility Law requires owners and operators of motor vehicles to be financially responsible for damages and/or injuries they may cause to others when a motor vehicle crash happens.” (Florida Driver’s Handbook)
Please note that it says “owners and operators”, not just owners. This means that if you are driving a vehicle that is not yours, you still have to have your own insurance coverage.
If a driver in Florida is caught driving without proof of insurance, per state law s. 316.646(1) you can be ticketed. The officer is allowed to give you a ticket, even if you actually have insurance, but just don’t have your insurance card on you.
You can have the ticket dismissed when you provide proof of valid insurance along with $10.00 to pay the fee to the Clerk of the Court within 30 days of receiving the ticket. You are only able to have the ticket dismissed if your insurance was valid at the time you received the ticket.
Trackback from your site.