They won’t take away your license if you drive without Wyoming car insurance; they just throw you in jail.
|State Regulator Information||800-438-5768||insurance.state.wy.us|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,538||National Average: $1,318|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $20k
Before you are allowed to register your vehicle in the state of Wyoming, you will have to show proof that you have Wyoming car insurance. This is really no different than any other state as they all require proof of insurance now before a car is registered. In fact, most of Wyoming’s car insurance laws, really just follow what all of the other states are requiring.
Mandatory Wyoming Car Insurance
Mandatory Wyoming car insurance includes having to have bodily injury liability coverage, property damage liability coverage, and even uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage has its own set of requirements and we will cover that here shortly. For now, let’s concentrate on the liability coverage is required as part of Wyoming car insurance.
Liability coverage is divided up into three parts:
Injury coverage for one person/injury coverage for everyone/coverage for the other person’s property
Wyoming requires that drivers carry $25,000 in injury coverage for one person and $50,000 in injury coverage for everyone. Finally, $20,000 in coverage for the damage that you do to the other person’s property has to be on your policy as well.
When the numbers are added in for your Wyoming car insurance policy it would look like this: 25/50/20.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage for Wyoming Car Insurance
Uninsured motorist coverage is required to be on a Wyoming car insurance policy. This coverage is only for injuries that you or any other passengers in your vehicle sustain from a driver that is uninsured or leaves the scene of the accident. This particular uninsured motorist coverage does not pay for any of the damages that your car may have as a result of the accident.
The minimum coverage allowed for the uninsured motorist coverage under Wyoming car insurance law is $25,000 for the injuries per person and $50,000 per accident. You do have the option of opting out of this coverage, but you have to do so in writing. Otherwise, you insurance agent has to include it on your insurance policy.
Wyoming Car Insurance Penalties
In the state of Wyoming, a police officer can request that you provide proof of Wyoming car insurance at any time. Which means that even if you are holding out on getting Wyoming car insurance because you think you are a safe driver and don’t need it; you can still get in trouble for not having it even if you aren’t in an accident.
If you just forgot to put your proof of insurance in your car, they will give you 7 days to show proof that you are covered. However, if you don’t have insurance, Wyoming has two penalties for driving without Wyoming car insurance.
One, you could be fined up to $750.00. Two, you could be sentenced to a jail term of up to 6 months. If you have been really bad, you could get both. What penalties you end up with will depend on the judge and what other penalties you may have on your driving record for not have Wyoming car insurance.
Trackback from your site.