Compare Rates From Top Providers
Save Up To 46% on Car Insurance
Enter Zip Code:

Ohio Car Insurance: Buy More than What’s Required

Written by Todd Clay. Posted in Research Last Updated: 12/02/2017

Ohio car insurance requirements don’t even come near what you would need to be adequately protected.

State Regulator Information 800-686-1526
Insurance Premium Avg. Annual Premium: $ 919 National Average: $1,318
Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage Bodily Injury Liab.: 25/50
Property Damage Liab.: 25
ohio car insurance

To get the insurance protection you need, purchase more than the required Ohio car insurance limits.

Even the State of Ohio admits that its required liability limits are too low to be effective and recommends that you purchase higher insurance. When the state recommends that, you may want to pay attention.

Regardless though, to be able to drive or allow anyone else to drive your vehicle there are certain minimum Ohio car insurance coverage limits that you have to have. So even if you aren’t carrying limits that would adequately protect you as the state recommends, at least carry the minimum limits.

Ohio Car Insurance Requirements

Ohio car insurance requirements include $12,500 liability coverage for the injury or death of a single person and $25,000 liability total coverage for the injury or death of two or more people. Property damage liability coverage is at the low requirement of $7,500. Do you understand now why state authorities recommend that you buy higher coverage limits than is required by Ohio Car insurance law?

Alternatives to Ohio Car Insurance

If you would prefer not to purchase Ohio car insurance, the state does have alternative options for you. You can provide proof that you have a $30,000 bond set aside for a potential car accident. Deposit $30,000 in money or bonds with the Ohio Treasurer. Lastly, you can file a certificate bond for $30,000 that is signed by at least two people that hold real estate with an equity value of a minimum amount of $60,000.

How the State Verifies Ohio Car Insurance

The state verifies that you have Ohio car insurance at random through letters mailed out to registered vehicle owners. Per the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles they mail out 5,400 notices every week. The letter requests that the owner of the vehicle submit proof of insurance for a specific date within 21 days.

If there was no insurance, proof of why the vehicle is exempt from insurance must be provided. Including:

• The vehicle was not being used at the time as it is only used seasonally.

• The vehicle is not able to be driven due to mechanic trouble.

Penalties for not Carrying Ohio Car Insurance

Like with every other state, having no Ohio car insurance is a violation of the law and carries penalties with it. The first time you get caught without Ohio car insurance your driver’s license is suspended for at least 90 days (up to 2 years). Your license plate and registration for your vehicle is also suspended at this time.

Once you have served your suspension, you have to pay a license plate reinstatement fee and also carry SR-22 insurance with your car insurance for at least 3 years (up to 5 years). There are also additional fees you will be charged for not surrendering your driver’s license, license plates and registration.

If you keep driving without Ohio car insurance, the state will not only suspend your vehicle registration for 5 years, they will also just take away your car.

Trackback from your site.

Todd Clay

Todd Clay is a former insurance agent with the largest insurance company in the United States. He earned his Bachelor’s from the University of Texas. He's worked in several fields but has specialized in insurance, financial-related information, and technology. He blogs at Car Insurance Guidebook. Connect with Tood on Google+

Leave a comment

Overall Rating

Save Up To 46% on Car Insurance
Enter Zip Code: