The only state where you have the choice of purchasing Virginia car insurance or paying a fee to be able to drive without any coverage.
|State Regulator Information||800-552-7945||www.scc.virginia.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,114||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $20k
When it comes to choices and insurance coverages, most states don’t give you much of a choice. The only choice you are actually ever offered is if you want to purchase insurance or go with some other way of proving financial responsibility (bonds, etc.). In Virginia, however, you are given an alternative option of being able to drive and not have to prove financial responsibility.
Just don’t think that it comes without a price though, no state will allow you to do that.
Needed Virginia Car Insurance Coverage
Virginia car insurance requirements are as follows:
• $20,000 in coverage for property damage that you do to property that you do not own.
• $25,000 in coverage for the medical expenses that arise if you injure a single person in a car accident who was not in your vehicle.
• $50,000 in coverage for the medical expenses that are for two or more people you injure in a car accident. This amount is the total that your insurance company will pay for, for all medical expenses that are from an accident you cause.
Virginia does offer other methods of financial responsibility as alternatives to Virginia car insurance; for more information on these alternatives contact the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.
Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee for No Virginia Car Insurance
If you decide that you don’t want to drive with any Virginia car insurance coverage, you can actually pay a fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles and still be able to drive legally. This fee is called the Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee and it has to be paid at the time that you renew the registration for your vehicle.
The fee is $500 for the year and has to be paid each time you renew if you chose to still not have Virginia car insurance coverage. This fee is only to exempt you from having to have insurance on your vehicle and does not provide you with any actual coverage. By choosing to pay this fee and not carry insurance, you are personally responsible for any damages or injuries that come from an accident you are responsible for.
Virginia Car Insurance Verification and Monitoring
Virginia tracks insurance multiple ways:
1. They are notified whenever you register or renew a registration for a vehicle, as you are to provide insurance coverage.
2. They are also notified by law enforcement if you fail to provide proof of insurance at a traffic stop.
3. They are notified by law enforcement if you have no insurance at the time of an accident that a police report was written for.
4. They are notified with a FR200 form that is filed by another party that was involved in an accident with a driver that they believe is not insured.
5. They are also notified through electronic reporting done by the insurance companies each time you cancel, purchase, or change your Virginia car insurance policy.
Trackback from your site.