Keeping your Vermont car insurance active will save you more money than getting caught without it.
|State Regulator Information||800-964-1784||www.bishca.state.vt.us|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,149||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $10k
Car insurance requirements in the state of Vermont concentrate on making sure that there is more coverage for injuries you may cause than property damage. As with all minimum insurance requirements, you have to ask yourself if it is enough coverage to protect you financially; in case you do cause an accident. If you feel that the minimums that are required for Vermont car insurance aren’t enough, you can always purchase more.
No matter what you do though, just make sure that you purchase at least what is required for the minimum Vermont car insurance.
Minimum Vermont Car Insurance Requirements
Vermont car insurance minimum requirements include $10,000 in coverage for property damage, $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage for a single person and $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage for the entire accident.
Confused? Let me elaborate on what each of the coverages are.
Property damage coverage is to cover the damage you do with your vehicle, to property that you do not own. It can be another person’s vehicle, a house or even a traffic sign. If you damage it and do not own it, your property damage liability coverage will pay for it; up to the amount of coverage that you have.
Bodily injury liability coverage pays for the medical expenses (and more) of any person that you injure or kill with your vehicle. It is broken down into two different coverage limits. First, is the smaller limit of what the insurance company will pay per person that is injured. In Vermont, the minimum coverage allowed is the $25,000.
Second, is the larger limit of what an insurance company will pay for the total of all injuries in a car accident. For Vermont car insurance, you are allowed to carry no less than $50,000 in this coverage. This means if you injure multiple people and their expenses exceed $50,000 for all of them, you are responsible for paying the amount left over beyond the $50,000.
Refusing the Carry Vermont Car Insurance
If you refuse to obey the law and don’t carry Vermont car insurance on your vehicle, you will face legal penalties. To start you will receive a fine that will be no less than $250, but no more than $500.
You will also receive points on your driving record and have to file for SR-22 insurance for the next three years. These last two are going to make the amount you have to pay for insurance much higher than what you were paying before.
Now, if you still can’t get your head around the fact that you have to keep insurance on your car to drive and you let your newly required SR-22 insurance lapse; your driver’s license will be suspended
May I offer a word of advice? Just keep your Vermont car insurance active; it will be a lot cheaper and less trouble for you in the long run.
Trackback from your site.