If you don’t have South Carolina car insurance in place, you won’t get anything accomplished with the DMV.
|State Regulator Information||800-768-3467||www.doi.sc.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,316||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $25k
South Carolina car insurance is tracked by the state both when a vehicle is registered, as well as when an insurance policy is cancelled. Being caught without this South Carolina car insurance at any time, will result in suspensions and fees. If you are a new resident to the state and are without South Carolina car insurance, the DMV will not allow you to complete any action with them at all.
South Carolina Car Insurance and Current Residents
The state of South Carolina requires that all of your insurance coverage be active before you can get or renew your driver’s license and to register your vehicle. When you are getting a new license or renewing your license, you must indicate on the application for your license that you are insured. If there is no vehicle in the household or the vehicle in the household is not yours, you simply indicate that on the application.
In order to register a new vehicle or renew the registration on your old vehicle, you have to have current insurance on that vehicle. The DMV will ask you the name of the company that your South Carolina car insurance is with and then they will verify the information electronically. If it comes back that you are not insured with that company, the DMV will suspend both your vehicle’s registration and your driver’s license for having no South Carolina car insurance.
South Carolina Car Insurance and New Residents
If you are just moving to South Carolina, your new South Carolina address has to be on your current insurance policy. In reality though, you can’t simply update your address for your insurance policy to be good in another state. Your insurance policy will need to be cancelled in your old state and rewritten in your new state. All of which has to be taken care of before you can register your vehicle in South Carolina or get your new South Carolina driver’s license.
South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements
South Carolina car insurance requires that you carry at least $25,000 in coverage for property damage that you cause to another person’s property. You are also required to carry bodily injury liability coverage for any injuries that you cause to another person. South Carolina car insurance law requires that you carry at least $25,000 to cover the medical expenses for one person and $50,000 for the medical expenses of all parties involved in the accident.
South Carolina Car Insurance Tracking
In South Carolina, insurance companies have to report to the state whenever an insurance policy is cancelled. Once the state finds out about the cancellation, you have to provide verification to South Carolina that you do have new insurance in the state. Failure to provide this new information will result in the South Carolina DMV suspending your vehicle’s registration as well as your driver’s license. If suspended, you could have to pay up to $400 to reinstate these items after you do havea valid South Carolina car insurance policy.
Trackback from your site.