All of the coverage needed to be in compliance with Oregon car insurance laws falls just short of having to buy the kitchen sink as well.
|State Regulator Information||888-877-4894||www.insurance.oregon.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,308||National Average: $1,318|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability: $25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $20k
|PIP: $15kUM: $25/50k|
Some states have really, low liability limits required to be able to drive; limits so low that they don’t cost very much and don’t cover very much. Then there are other states that require almost a full policy in to be in place.
Oregon is one of these other states; they require so much coverage that the only thing missing is the comprehensive and collision coverage. Don’t think that you can get away with only having the liability insurance either, Oregon car insurance law requires it all or it’s not enough.
What’s All Required for Oregon Car Insurance
To start, liability is of course one of the required coverages. Bodily injury is set at the minimum requirement of $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident. Property damage liability can be no lower than $20,000.
Beyond liability coverage, Oregon car insurance requires Personal injury protection (PIP) at no less than $15,000. Uninsured motorist (UM) is also required for Oregon car insurance with the minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury only.
Watch Your Car Get Towed Away Without Oregon Car Insurance
If you are caught without Oregon car insurance your vehicle could be towed away. Towing your car is just one of the many things that can happen to you for driving without Oregon car insurance. You can also be subject to:
• License suspension
• Towing and storage fees
• Having to carry SR-22 insurance for 3 years
The extent of your punishment for not having Oregon car insurance depends on the policy officer and the judge involved in your violation.
Oregon Car Insurance is Checked and Double Checked
Your compliance with Oregon car insurance requirements is checked every time you register your vehicle. Without proof of Oregon car insurance you will not be allowed to register your vehicle in Oregon. Oregon also randomly selects vehicle owners to check Oregon car insurance compliance every month. Once you are selected you will be sent a letter that you are required to respond to.
If you chose to ignore the letter and fail to respond to the random compliance it will result in license suspension. If you lie and the insurance company you claim to have insurance with says you don’t, you will be required to carry SR-22 insurance for 3 years. SR-22 insurance is high-risk insurance that cost much more than regular insurance. If you fail to get this insurance your license is suspended.
No insurance=license suspension
Ignoring an Oregon car insurance verification=license suspension
Lying about having insurance=paying much more for SR-22 insurance
Not getting the SR-22 insurance=license suspension
Oregon requires a lot of insurance to be maintained on your vehicle, but the alternatives are much worse. Stick with the cheaper option of just keeping your Oregon car insurance current and keep out of legal trouble with the state.
Trackback from your site.