One way or the other you will have to pay because of Norfolk car insurance.
Norfolk car insurance is something that no driver should be without if they are going to venture out on the busy roads. In Virginia though, you do have the option of doing so.
Norfolk Car Insurance is Technically State Law
The State of Virginia requires that all of its driver have car insurance if they want to drive. If drivers fail to comply with this they will find their driver’s licenses and vehicle registrations suspended, a $500 statutory fee that they have to pay, and a reinstatement fee that they will also be required to pay.
In addition to all of the fees that will have to be paid, they will also have to have a SR-22 filed with the DMV for 3 years which will increase their car insurance premium for those 3 years.
Opting Out of Norfolk Car Insurance
Yes, drivers can drive without car insurance, but if they want to be able to do so they have to pay a $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee to the DMV. If they don’t pay the fee and they are caught driving around without car insurance they will face the same fines and penalties associated with not having car insurance.
Going Without Norfolk Car Insurance
If you are thinking about opting out from purchasing the protection that a Norfolk car insurance policy provides, compare the two options.
First, the $500 fee that you are paying to the DMV is only for the privilege of driving without car insurance. You have no car insurance, so if you get into an accident you have to pay for the damages you cause out of your own pocket.
Second, most insurance policies are going to run you about the same price as the $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee. But the $500 you pay to the insurance company will provide you with the protection of the insurance company paying for the damages you cause in an accident.
So before you decide to opt out of having to have Norfolk car insurance consider what you are losing compared to what you are gaining.
Trackback from your site.