Nebraska car insurance follows the vehicle owner, not necessarily the driver of the vehicle at the time.
|State Regulator Information||877-564-7323||www.doi.ne.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,317||National Average: $1,503|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $25k
Buying Nebraska car insurance coverage all falls onto the shoulders of the vehicle owner, not the driver. So, if you own a vehicle in the state of Nebraska, you have to make sure that you have insurance coverage on it if it is registered in the state. If you don’t, you are going to lose your driving privileges; even if it was someone else that was driving your car when it was discovered that there was no insurance coverage for it.
Nebraska Car Insurance Coverages
The state of Nebraska requires that you carry liability coverage on your vehicle in order to drive in this state. They require that you have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage for the medical expenses for one person and $50,000 for two or more people.
They also require that you carry no less than $25,000 in property damage liability coverage on your Nebraska car insurance. This is to cover the damage that you do to another person’s property in the event of a car accident.
Tracking Nebraska Car Insurance
Nebraska car insurance is tracked through an electronic database. The insurance companies are required to submit information to this database so that the state can keep track of the registered vehicles that do and do not have the required insurance coverage.
The database is not updated daily, so if you do have insurance coverage it could take the state a couple of days to see that information.
Penalties for No Nebraska Car Insurance
If you are found guilty of having “No Proof of Insurance”, your driver’s license and/or operating privileges will be suspended. The state does not recommend that you plead guilty to a “No Proof of Insurance” ticket if you are not the owner of the vehicle. This specific citation is only given to the person that owns the vehicle, even if the owner was not the one driving.
If there is coverage for the vehicle, but the insurance card was not present when asked for, you will have a chance to provide proof. For acceptable proof, your insurance company has to write the state a letter saying that you had insurance coverage on the specific day that it was asked for.
Nebraska Car Insurance and SR-22 Filing
Once you have been caught without insurance, you will have to purchase SR-22 insurance for the next 3 years. This insurance is an additional charge on top of what you will pay for the regular insurance coverage. It’s basically proof to the state that you have insurance coverage. If you ever drop the SR-22 insurance before the 3 years are up, the state counts that as having no insurance at all.
Reinstating Driving Privileges with Nebraska Car Insurance
To get your driving privileges restored, you must first get a valid insurance policy in place for your vehicle. In addition to regular insurance, you will now have to have SR-22 insurance as well as pay a $50.00 reinstatement fee to get your driving privileges back.
It would just be cheaper and less hassle for you to keep your Nebraska car insurance active.
Trackback from your site.