Minnesota is another state that requires as much coverage for you as they do for others on your Minnesota car insurance policy.
|State Regulator Information||800-657-3602||www.insurance.mn.gov|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,241||National Average: $1,318|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$30k/60k
Property Damage Liability: $10k
Minnesota car insurance has so many different backup coverages that medical expenses should have no problem being paid for if you are in an accident. It’s really the damages that you may cause to another person’s property or damages that are caused to your vehicle that you have to worry about being paid for in Minnesota.
Mandatory PIP for Minnesota Car Insurance
Personal injury protection coverage is part of the no-fault law in the state of Minnesota. In the event of a car accident where you are injured, your PIP coverage is what will pay for the medical expenses. PIP coverage will kick in regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
You are required to carry $40,000 in PIP coverage per person/per accident on your Minnesota car insurance policy. This coverage breaks down to $20,000 for medical expenses and $20,000 for non-medical expenses.
Mandatory Liability for Minnesota Car Insurance
Bodily injury liability coverage is required as part of your Minnesota car insurance, just like it is for almost every other state. For Minnesota, they require that you carry no less than $30,000 in coverage for the medical expenses for one person in a single accident. This coverage is paired with the requirement of having to carry no less than $60,000 in coverage for two or more people in a single accident.
You may be asking yourself why you have to carry bodily injury liability insurance if you live in a no-fault state. The bodily injury liability coverage is to cover for when medical expenses exceed that of the limits of the PIP policy for the other party.
Property damage liability coverage is also required as part of the mandatory liability coverage on a Minnesota car insurance policy. A measly $10,000 is required to be carried to cover any damages that you do to another person’s property. It is highly recommended that you carry more coverage than this though. This $10,000 won’t cover much and you will be left with paying for whatever the insurance policy didn’t.
Mandatory UM/UIM for Minnesota Car Insurance
For example, say that you are injured in an accident that is caused by another person. Your medical expenses would first be covered under your own PIP coverage. Once your expenses exceed your PIP limits, you would go after the other person’s bodily injury liability coverage to cover the remaining expenses. Now, here is where the uninsured motorist and the underinsured motorist coverages come in:
1) If the other person does not have enough bodily injury liability coverage for your medical expenses your underinsured motorist coverage would kick in.
2) If the other person does not have any bodily injury liability coverage at all, you uninsured motorist coverage would pick up your medical expenses from where your PIP ended.
For both UM and UIM you are required to carry $25,000 per person and $50,000 for two or more people on your Minnesota car insurance policy.
Trackback from your site.