Kansas car insurance requirements have the most specific mandatory coverages in the nation.
|State Regulator Information||800-432-2484||www.ksinsurance.org|
|Insurance Premium||Avg. Annual Premium: $ 1,192||National Average: $1,318|
|Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage||Bodily Injury Liability:$25k/50k
Property Damage Liability: $10k
|PIP: See Insurance AgentUM/UIM: $25k/50k|
States around the country are usually content with just requiring that their drivers carry liability insurance, so that everyone on the road is protected somewhat. Kansas car insurance does that plus more. They require not only liability coverage to protect anyone that you may hit with your vehicle, but a good deal of coverage for yourself as well.
Kansas car insurance is not alone in starting to require that drivers carry some sort of protection for themselves like; personal injury protection, medical payments, underinsured motorist or uninsured motorist. What makes Kansas car insurance requirements stand out from the rest are the very specific coverages that they require you to carry under your personal injury protection coverage.
Kansas Car Insurance Liability Coverage
Kansas car insurance laws require that all drivers be protected from each other by mandating that everyone carry liability insurance. The bodily injury liability coverage is required so that you have a way to pay for the medical expenses of a person you hit with your vehicle.
The state requires that you have at least $25,000 in coverage to pay for these expenses for a single person that you injure or kill. It is also required that you carry no less than $50,000 in coverage to cover the medical expenses that arise for all injuries or fatalities in a single accident.
In addition to having coverage to pay for injuries you may cause, you also have to carry coverage for any property damage that you may do with your vehicle. You can have no less than $10,000 in Kansas car insurance coverage to pay for the damages to people’s property.
Kansas Car Insurance PIP Coverage
The personal injury protection (PIP) that you have to have on your Kansas car insurance is extremely detailed as to the specific coverages that are to be included. As an overview, PIP coverage is for the medical expenses that you or anyone in your vehicle sustains in a car accident. This coverage can be used regardless of who caused the accident.
The minimum PIP coverage you are allowed to have on your Kansas car insurance:
• $4,500/person for medical expenses
• $25/day for in-home services for one year
• $900/month for one year for disability/loss of income
• $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense
• $4,500 for rehabilitation expense
• Survivor Benefits: Disability/loss of income up to $900/month for one year
Kansas Car Insurance UM/UIM Coverage
The state of Kansas requires that you carry uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage pays for the medical expenses that you may have if another driver hits you with their vehicle and they do not have any insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage is to protect you in the event that you have more medical expenses than the other driver has in insurance coverage.
Kansas car insurance law requires that you carry no less than $25,000 in coverage for a single person and no less than $50,000 total in coverage for two or more people.
Trackback from your site.