Knowing your way around Gilbert car insurance laws will keep you out of trouble.
Knowing that you have to have car insurance is not enough. You have to know what proof of coverage that you need to present when asked for it and you have to know exactly how much you are required by law to have. If you just have insurance, but fail to pay attention to the other important aspects of Gilbert car insurance you could still end up in trouble with the state.
How Much Car Insurance Do You Need?
The State of Arizona only requires that you carry 15/30/10 liability limits on your Gilbert car insurance to be able to legally drive. For those that don’t speak insurance, this translates as:
- $15,000 in liability coverage for the expenses related to the injuries that you cause to another person
- $30,000 in liability coverage for the expenses related to the injuries that you cause to two or more people.
- $10,000 in liability coverage for damage you do to another person’s property.
Beyond these coverages, it is up for you and your insurance agent to decide how much insurance coverage you need that will adequately protect you.
Acceptable Gilbert Car Insurance Proof
“In this article, unless the context otherwise requires, “evidence” includes:
1. An original, a photocopy or a copy of a current and valid:
- (a) Motor vehicle or automobile liability policy that meets the requirements of section 28-4009.
- (b) Binder or certificate of motor vehicle or automobile liability insurance that meets the requirements of section 28-4009.
- (c) Certificate of self-insurance issued by the department under article 1 of this chapter.
- (d) Certificate of deposit that meets the requirements of section 28-4084.
- (e) Motor vehicle insurance identification card issued by an authorized insurer or an authorized agent of the insurer for a motor vehicle or automobile liability policy that meets the requirements of section 28-4009.
- (f) Certificate of insurance for a policy that meets the requirements of section 28-4033.
2. Designation of a motor vehicle as owned or leased by this state or any of its political subdivisions according to section 38-538.
3. A display on a wireless communication device of any item listed in paragraph 1 of this section.” (Arizona State Legislature)
Your Gilbert car insurance agent will be able to help make sure that you have the correct coverages and proof.
Trackback from your site.