Compare Rates From Top Providers
Save Up To 46% on Car Insurance
Enter Zip Code:

First Acceptance Customer Reviews

Acceptance Insurance was originally founded in 1969 and is based out of Nashville, Tennessee. They currently sell car insurance  in 13 states under a number of different company names, but all grouped under the name of Acceptance Insurance. They market, sell, and service auto insurance through their network of agents.

For high-to-medium risk drivers, Acceptance Insurances writes non-standard personal auto insurance policies under First Acceptance.

For State Farm reviews, click here.

For Travelers reviews, click here.

Overall Rating1.431.431.431.431.43
Price1.571.571.571.571.57
Service1.421.421.421.421.42
Claims1.411.411.411.411.41

Reviews (33)

  • Sandy Dyer

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 44444
    Service 55555
    Claims 55555

    Have them for the last two years.
    Great service. Clear policy. Gave great service in when we needed a policy change.
    Bottom line – reliable and recommended.
    Could do a better job on pricing.

    Reply

  • Josh

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This is the absolute worse company out there. If you are reading this and deciding just know you will cause more pain and harm to the person you can possible hit then it is worth the cheep payment. My and my mom are getting ripped off and will not pay close to what the car is worth, did i mention the lady who hit me totaled the car and now screwed me over as they docked us money on the payment because my roof was dented when she hit me. Oh another thing is that the date of me writing this is 3/28/17, my car was wrecked on 12/20/16. do the math buts that about 4 months. and to mention the lady who hit me drove away with a little crack in her radiator. but despite how pissed i am to get way less then the car is worth, it is still a car and it did what it was meant to do and we are alive. but as much as i hate to say it but i think my mom will have lasting effects from it due to it hurting her hip. but in the end Insurance is to make things fair and orderly, not make things worse and make the worst experience for a person they will have in there life. Good to you is you have insurence and are willing to pay for it. but to those that are thinking about getting them just know that you could do to someone what happened to me. I had to have people help me because of a pinched nerve in my body during exam week. not to mention i had to write many things that week as well. So please help a fellow person out and don’t use them. i hope in my life time or my children’s life time will be the day that First acceptance is closed down for its actions and held responsible for what they have done.

    Reply

  • Tara

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This insurance co. was the WORST EVER! Never in my life have I had so many problems.
    1. Despite setting up payments to be automatically drafted from my checking account each month, the insurance company consistently sent notifications of cancellation to my lien holder each month. The result being, that each month, I had to call both the insurance company and my lender to prove that my coverage never lapsed. WASTE of time!
    2. After the 1st 6 months of consecutive payments and 0 accidents, 0 tickets, the company JACKED UP my rates, and drafted my account DOUBLED the Payment Amount. They said it was not a “requirement” to notify me but a courtesy call would have been nice.
    3. Although they would cancel my policy, they WOULD NOT refund any money until I could first prove that I was already insured by another company. The result being that I had to come up with additional funds for the new policy before they would refund anything and replenish what I had to pay out.
    4. Because the agent with the company had not included bodily injury or Property Damage Liability to my policy, my rate was mush higher than it could have been with my new policy. In short, I was “punished” for having insufficient coverage.
    5. When I went to cancel (1) of (2) vehicles from the policy (One vehicle was being driven by my 19 year old son, and was not working), they told me that my payment would INCREASE. Had I just never insured that car, I would have paid a much lower payment and never would have felt forced into insuring it at a later time, when the car was no longer working.
    The BIGGEST rip off and most INCOMPETENT insurance company EVER!

    Reply

  • Adam

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price Not Rated
    Service Not Rated
    Claims 11111

    I was in an accident 2&1/2 months ago with a first acceptance insure. Settled with acceptance after 2 months for my totaled car. They picked it up. Sent title certified mail. Going on three weeks with no payment. Was provided no rental for my totaled vehicle. I would have been better off filing through my own insurance and losing my deductible. All thanks to the company standards of don’t answer, don’t pay & don’t care.

    Reply

  • Rick St George

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 22222
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I would not advice to use this company at all. They are no help whatsoever. Our car was towed the other day because the Police said we had no insurance on the vehicle, license was suspended for the same reason. After arguing with DMV for 45 minutes they said we had none. At the same time I was talking to acceptance insurance they said they again sent the info to the state and would send us an email of what they sent the state. 3 hours later no email and the secretary of state still says no insurance.. Mean while our car sits in the impound yard accumulating more charges that never should have happened in the first place. Call this number call this number, all they did was pass the buck. No help at all. Beware of this company.

    Reply

  • Ashley

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Its been almost a month since my accident after filing my claim I didn’t hear from my adjuster for about two weeks. I have been calling and leaving messages and no reply my adjuster is NEVER in her office. I was told I would receive my payment before Tuesday and I haven’t received anything. I will be finding a new insurance company very soon.

    Reply

  • Tonya

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. One of their drivers totaled my car and I still haven’t gotten payment after a month. They don’t answer their phones and they don’t return their phone calls. Horrible!

    Reply

  • W. Daniels

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Purchased SR22/ Liablitly coverage a year ago, policy renewed 8 months ago and my vehicle was dropped to straight SR22 bond without my knowledge. The car was ticketed on the side of the road and the BMV is saying the policy isn’t the correct coverage, now I am going to lose my license FOR A YEAR and fined $350. The reps were rude and the company will not fix the problem.

    Reply

  • Yolonda

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price Not Rated
    Service Not Rated
    Claims 11111

    I was hit by one of their insured’s and it took them a year and a half to settle the liability claim. I still don’t have the property side recovered. They are the worse company ever and I am an insurance agent.

    Reply

  • C. Waddell

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price Not Rated
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Honestly this is the worse company I have ever dealt with. Their insured rear-ended me over 2 weeks ago. Not one response from them even though I have called numerous times. Even the supervisor won’t called back. Inconsiderate, unprofessional to say the least.!!!. I filed a complaint with the insurance commissioner and really after reading the previous reviews, I don’t think it will even phase them. If you are in an accident with one of their insured, all I can say is Good Luck. You’ll need it. I don’t even want to give them a one star.

    Reply

  • Rick Ruether

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price Not Rated
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This is honestly the worst company I can remember EVER dealing with. I was broad sided by someone that has First Acceptance (their fault & sited..). I tried many, many times to get the claim settled. After Finally getting In touch w/an agent (they switched my agent several times) doing everything they requested of me, I had zero luck. They actually lied to me about several things (e.g: not being able to get in touch w/their client, which I could easily!). Now I have a lawyer. Even she is frustrated. TERRIBLE! can’t say enough negative!

    Reply

  • Janet

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Very bad service and very rude representatives. Claims department does not answer calls and when they do decide to answer they say that they won’t pay any damages that are done. Think twice before purchasing this insurance!!!

    Reply

  • ARW

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This has to be the worst insurance company. I was rear ended by someone that has this coverage and the process to get my vehicle repaired is taking forever. Whenever I call to speak to someone, I always get the voicemail. When I leave a voicemail the respond to me via email instead of returning the phone call. I’m thankful that my car was not totaled out or I’m sure the process would be even longer. My assigned adjuster gave me the run around which forced me to contact the supervisor. As soon as I contacted the supervisor they gave me the go ahead to take my car to the repair shop to begin the process. Let’s not mention their relationship they have with Hertz which is another company that has terrible customer service. I have heard bad things about this company and when I was rear ended and saw that the driver that hit me has coverage through acceptance, I already knew what to expect.

    Reply

  • Lorene

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This company is horrible. I was rear ended by someone that has this insurance. It took 3 months for them to settle for my vehicle which was totaled and they would not provide a rental car. I was force to do a lot of walking which aggravated my hip arthritis and caused me to go into a depression. I wasn’t able to work for 3 months because they didn’t replace my vehicle. I had to walk over 2 miles to get to the doctor because there is no bus service. I had a concussion and they still haven’t paid my medical bills which total over 4500.00 and it has been almost 5 months ago. The first rep I was assigned to told me that I wasn’t poor because I told him that I retired and live off of investment income (as many retired people do). My income totals less than 10,000 per year. He was allegedly fired but I was reassigned to his brother who is equally arrogant and sounds just like his brother (probably the still the same person). He doesn’t return phone calls and I have to email his supervisor who also doesn’t do anything. I have already filed one BBB complaint and have written a letter to the Tennessee Insurance Bureau. They advised I get an attorney. If you ever have the unfortunate event of getting hit by someone that has this insurance, I recommend getting an attorney right away.

    Reply

  • Dominique Murrell

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims Not Rated

    I just don’t understand what I was thinking when I got this insurance next time I will do my research I hit a deer almost 2 weeks ago still nothing my claims adjuster is on vacation omg I guess it’ll be another month Smh

    Reply

  • l ouelle

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price Not Rated
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    DONT EVER GET HIT BY SOMEONE WITH THIS INS CO!! don’t go thru them directly which was a bad mistake I made, let your ins company deal with them.My car rear-ended and totaled 8/15/14. Finally just got paid three months later No one seems to work there – phone lines don’t go thru messages and emails go unanswered – people constantly reassigned to different departments or fired or quit. so when you finally get someone, they go somewhere else and your claim sits unassigned. CALL THEIR LEGAL DEPT as I did and speak w their attorneys and threaten lawsuit – I was finally assigned a wonderful experienced woman who processed my claim and returned calls and got the job done in 6 weeks- I believe industry standard is to pay claims within 30 days and this took 90 days and keeping company on speeddial to try to get someone. days of countless unanswered calls—very stressful. so if you get hit by one of them, go thru your own ins company and let them deal w them

    Reply

  • Ethan

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price Not Rated
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This instance company should be closed down I have a 2005 Mustang my car was broken into my convertible top cut they offered me 1100 to go and have my top replaced a factory OEM top cost 1800 400 to have installed what am I supposed to do with 1100 they told me I have to pay for the rest what kind of BS is that I can’t wait to drop these duck heads.

    Reply

  • A.Pan

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 55555
    Service 44444
    Claims 55555

    I recently became employed by Acceptance, but before then, I had been a customer for about 4 years. Last year I was in an accident that ended up totaling my vehicle and leaving me unable to work. I didn’t have the negative experience that most of the people on here are talking about. I always had friendly people on the phone with me trying to help me get my claim process completed faster. Because I had a medical claim, I had to get an attorney. But on their part? I had a claims adjuster out to my home almost instantly. I also received a check within 2 weeks of the wreck and was able to get a car. I know that I had minor coverage but I had some of the add-ons they offer on my policy. For me being 22 years old with a no fault accident on my driving record, $80.00 a month is not bad!.. I agree with something another employee had said on here. Please make sure to understand your policy and exactly what is included with your contract. One more thing, it is a non-standard insurance company. People must realize when it comes to your premiums, this company insures the uninsurable. If you have had a DUI and need a specific type of insurance, you will be able to get the insurance you need there. That is why most will pay a bit more depending on your driving record!

    Reply

  • Whitney g.

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I was involved in an accident with an acceptance insured. I have been stone walled for 2 weeks. I don’t have a rental, a check, and haven’t heard from anything in 18 days!

    Reply

  • Tina

    |

    Overall Rating Not Rated
    Price Not Rated
    Service Not Rated
    Claims Not Rated

    Hi guys, this is a comment from an Acceptance employee. My office has several costumers, who have made claims and as long as they had proper coverage, their claims were paid. Not one of our insured’s has ever come to me and said “Hey I filed a claim, but your company refuses to pay it even though I have the right coverage for it”
    The reason I post this is to ask YOU to please-please-please take the time to discuss your policy with your agent before you start it. Just because you got “full coverage”, does not mean you’re covered from everything. Basic full coverage does not cover rental or towing, uninsured/underinsured motorists, any of medical payments to the insured, roadside assistance. If you do not understand something, PLEASE ASK QUESTIONS. As an agent I love costumers who ask questions… But unfortunately most people are too busy/lazy to talk and/or think about what they are paying for.

    Reply

    • Michele Wilmonen

      |

      Overall Rating Not Rated
      Price Not Rated
      Service Not Rated
      Claims Not Rated

      Thanks Tina!

      Reply

  • Christy bussell

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    I have been with this company for about ten years. Bought my daughter a truck and was planning on giving to her for graduation. Paid it off on a Friday and Saturday night a tree fell on it and totaled it.I have been going round and round with this agency.this happened the 23 of Feb.I had full coverage on it.still no rental car and no check.I am very disappointed in this company .I will be changing companies as soon as this is over. Needless to say I am now talking to an attorney and the state of insurance. This is a sorry company they do not care

    Reply

  • MB

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Horrible claims process! I am dropping this insurance company due to their terrible customer service of claims. A few months ago this dealership in South Texas referred me to this Acceptance insurance office nearby and the salesman spoke very highly about this insurance agent. I immediately signed up for a policy with the insurance agent over the phone as she was very persuasive and aggressive with a strong female voice. After getting upset with the slow response of my accident recently, I ended up googling this insurance company and I am finding mostly bad reviews from customers. I am also finding bad reviews from employees and ex-exmployees too!

    Reply

  • Jeff

    |

    Overall Rating 55555
    Price 33333
    Service 55555
    Claims 44444

    TRULY A GREAT COMPANY I THINK EVERY COMPANY SHOULD BE LIKE THIS ONE OR AT LEAST TRY! 🙂

    Reply

  • dorothy

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price Not Rated
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    Person with first acc ins hit my car door in my parking lot while it was parked. we had a witness and the insured owned up to wreck but they took one month to send me money. I have older car and they wanted to total car IT WAS A NIGHTMARE. i WILL BE CALLING BBB. When I called about check they keep saying it was in the mail. NO ONE anwsers phone after 6pm.

    Reply

  • Nicole

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This is by far the worse insurance company ever. Every comment above has more than the truth in it. This company is so unprofessional and they don’t care about the consumer at all. It’s like that Progressive commercial where the other guy doesn’t know your name. To make a long story short my car was totaled out June 10, 2011 today is October 20, 2011 and my bank has yet to be paid. They made me an offer the adjuster claims was based on the retail value in my area. Once I did my own research and found out that they were basically low balling me and sent them a certified letter they then changed their story. On several different occassions the adjuster assigned to my claim lied to me just to get me to settle. I asked in my letter to be assigned to someone else and complained about him bein unprofessional. Needless to say my complaints have gone unnoticed and they haven’t assigned anyone else. The supervisor said a lot of people make this claim but he is one of their best employees! (He’s a snake.) SO WHAT DOES THAT SAY ABOUT THE COMPANY IF HE IS THE BEST? They have ruinned my accrediation wIth my bank by telling them I am refusing to cooperate and turn over the car. The truth of the matter is the other insurance company has had the car for several months in their possesion because First Acceptance left it at the body shop for two months. If you can avoid this company avoid it like the BLACK PLAGUE! You will only loose in the long run. This goes without saying ” YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!”

    Reply

  • James

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    My car was totaled by a 1st Acceptance insured driver on July 25, 2011. They took my car from the body shop on August 4th. They have still not settled with the lien holder. I have called the adjuster and her supervisor more than 30 times over the last 3 weeks without a return call from either one. My insurance company has called and my attorney called but still no response. I have filed a formal complaint with the insurance commissioner and the Better Business Bureau (which rates them an A+) If that is not a blatant exhibition of how crooked the BBB is, I don’t know what is. First Acceptance is without question the most unprofessional, inconsiderate sorry excuse of an insurance company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Anyone would be a fool to consider this company for their insurance needs.

    Reply

  • Susan Jackson

    |

    Overall Rating Not Rated
    Price Not Rated
    Service Not Rated
    Claims Not Rated

    I.ve had this insurance about 6or7 years.I pay about $100. a month.My car got hit in the door at a parking lot of church. You don’t know what you got till you have to use it. I have sickness in my family and have made 3 trips to Texas scents Nov. when my car was hit. I’ve never filled a claim in my life till now. They ask me to go to Buick place here and get estament and they said $800. dollars. I got 3 more and they were for $16oo and 1700.

    I meet a old school mate at Buick place ans recieved a call from her. She informed me her truck was suppose to be fixed in a week it had been there a month still not fixed.I don’t do business with these people I have tried to work with theses people but got nowhere. Everybody going to help but never hear from them. I am a widow so guess they can do me. I worked hard to pay for this car and insurance so it would be fixed if something happioned.Its ashame to do people this way and what do I drive while my car it being fixed? I might have to eat this cost but, bet I check out the next com.

    PLEASE PLEASE if you use this com. check them out and bet you’ll be finding another com. If you know someone that can help PLEASE let me know. I take good care of my car now the door is smashed in.I really don’t see how theses people can sleep at night. Don’t trust theses people with your car. They are a joke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

    Reply

  • Chasity Jenkins

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 11111
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    This is the worse insurance company,I have ever delt with I have full coverage insurance i was in a accident on Aug 20 and they have not taking any action they just keep pasting my claims from one adjuster to another

    Reply

  • Larry Jones

    |

    Overall Rating Not Rated
    Price Not Rated
    Service Not Rated
    Claims Not Rated

    First Acceptance Auto insurance is located where in Robertsdale Al.

    Reply

  • e.cota

    |

    Overall Rating 11111
    Price 33333
    Service 11111
    Claims 11111

    They honestly suck but it is all i can afford. They charge for just billing you and i dont believe that is fair. especially 5$ worth of billing. They always change the rate and they dont even know what they are changing it for. they have no idea about what coverage you have or the amounts when you call in you have to go from person to person. and then you wait for over thirty mins. for them to find an answer.

    Reply

    • Jeanette A Bamberg

      |

      Overall Rating 11111
      Price 11111
      Service 11111
      Claims 11111

      You are so right they dont answer there phones. I dont have any supervisor to help you. This company is very bad. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY FOR INSURANCE

      Reply

Leave a comment

Overall Rating
Price
Service
Claims

Save Up To 46% on Car Insurance
Enter Zip Code: